On caregivers, faith, and family…

Thank You God 2Last week at AWANA we did something different during lesson time. Instead of hearing a Bible story, the kids were given a chance to express their gratitude in creative ways.

The older ones – 3rd through 6th grades – were given pens, paper, and scissors and told to finish this sentence: I am thankful for… Here are a few examples. Many are very serious; others, not so much. And you can tell by the last two that we’re in Texas.

I am thankful for:

  • My savior Jesus Christ
  • The Bible
  • Jesus and that He died on the cross for me
  • God
  • That God loved me enough to send his only Son Jesus to the cross
  • The military who work hard away from their families so I can be free
  • My freedom and the people who fight for it
  • My dad because he works hard
  • My family (many mentioned specific people by name)
  • For the food that my mom makes like chicken
  • Pickles
  • Football
  • Dr. Pepper

The younger ones – Kindergarten through 2nd grade – were given magazine pages, scissors, glue, Thank You God 3markers, and a sheet of paper headed with the words Thank You God for…  They were very creative, too. Many cut out several pictures, and some drew their own pictures in the margins and on the back. Here are some things they are thankful for. Once again, the last two tell you we’re in Texas.

Thank you God for:

  • Cell phones
  • Kool-Aid
  • Kittens and puppies
  • Lots of pictures of food
  • Flowers
  • Fireworks
  • Money
  • Mountains
  • Houses
  • Football
  • The Texas flag

I’m thankful that I have the opportunity to work with these kids each week. It helps me to look at God’s kingdom through their eyes and to remember what Jesus said about children.

13 People brought their small children to Jesus so that he could lay his hands on them to bless them. But the followers told the people to stop bringing their children to him. 14 Jesus saw what happened. He did not like his followers telling the children not to come. So he said to them, “Let the little children come to me. Don’t stop them, because God’s kingdom belongs to people who are like these little children. 15 The truth is, you must accept God’s kingdom like a little child accepts things, or you will never enter it.” 16 Then Jesus held the children in his arms. He laid his hands on them and blessed them.                                                                                                                  Mark 10:13-16 (ERV)

Happy Thanksgiving, and may Jesus hold you in His arms and bless you,

Linda

Comments on: "Kids Are Thankful, Too | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Linda,
    Something has happened to my computer. I am receiving notices that I’ve discontinued your blogs. This isn’t true. Therefore, I’ll try to resubscribe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 738 other followers

