On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Woohoo! 10,000 Views!

I passed 10,000 views on my blog yesterday. I thought I was going to hit it a couple of weeks ago, but the traffic dropped off a bit. Waiting for those last 200 was like watching the clock on the wall of your last class on the last day of school. It was also a bit like watching your odometer as it approaches that 100,000 mark. I wanted to see it happen, but I looked away for a few minutes and missed it. There were no balloons or streamers or anything, but it was exciting anyway, so I thought I’d have my own little celebration by looking back on what’s happened in the last seven months.

I published my first post on July 20, 2011. It was called “Daddy’s Legacy,” and it was a tribute to my dad who died in May. Since then I’ve published 63 more posts, 64 counting this one. WordPress offers some really good statistical information, and sometimes it’s hard not to get wrapped up in the numbers. On my busiest day, I had 931 views, and I could hardly take my eyes off the screen as the numbers climbed. That was pretty heady stuff and good for the ego, but just to balance it out, on my lowest day I had no views at all. There were lots more of those days than the busy ones, especially at first.

The stats also show which posts are the most popular. Because it was my first, and I did no pre-launch publicity, “Daddy’s Legacy” had the least views with a less than stellar count of 11. My most popular post was one I published just before Thanksgiving called “Feeling the Holiday Spirit.”  In it I talked about feeling holiday-ish even without the trappings, and it apparently struck a chord with a lot of readers, at least 1,511 of them. The second most popular post, “Confessions of an Ingrate,”   was about learning to count blessings instead of complaining. It attracted only two-thirds of the readers of the Holiday Spirit piece, but 977 is still a pretty mind-boggling figure for a newbie like me.

One of my favorite and surprising stat categories is the “Search Engine Terms.” This section tells what search terms have lead readers to my site. Apparently a lot of caregivers are struggling with odor problems, because since September 15, 94 searches have lead readers to my post called “Why Do Old People Smell Bad?”  The runner up search led 29 readers to “Shoes, Dreams and Writing,”   my September 30 post about several dreams I had about mis-matched shoes. It surprised me that so many people shared my shoe dreams, but what surprised me even more was the response to my post about the parents who are spell talking in the AT&T tablet commercial. In the week since I’ve published “How to Tell when It’s Time to Stop Spell Talking,”  23 searches have led to my site.

That’s probably more than you wanted to know about my blog, but there’s one more thing I want you to know before I sign off. I appreciate every one of the 10,000 views I’ve received and each reader that clicked the mouse. I appreciate your subscriptions, your likes, and your comments. I appreciate the time you took to stop by for a moment, and I hope you’ve been amused, encouraged or maybe even inspired by my stories. Please stop by any time and see what the next 10,000 views bring.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "10,000 Views Celebration | by Linda Brendle" (24)

  1. Congrats sis-in-law!

  2. Congratulations! I’ve been amused, encouraged AND inspired along the way. Here’s to the next 10,000!

  3. Congrats. Totally awesome:)

  4. Many congratulations! You’re doing well and hitting on subjects that are dear to your readers. Keep climbing, we’ve got your back!

  5. Pretty groovy. Keep it comin.

  6. YEAH!!! CONGRATULATIONS! Keep servin’ it up! We like it!

  7. Congratulations! 🙂

  8. Fantastic! Keep up all the awesome writing 🙂

  9. WOW!! This is wonderful news! I enjoy your blogs & I’m happy to be a follower. 🙂

  10. What an amazing testimony… And what an amazing journey from those days when we sat together at Village Inn dreaming of THIS day. I am thrilled for you and with you.

    • Sue, I couldn’t have done it without your encouragement, your input, your friendship, and your gentle blue editing pen. You helped me believe in the vision, and your continuing support help me keep the faith.

  11. Donna Wheeler said:

    Congratulations!

  12. so happy for you Gods Blessings 10000 times over

Leave a Reply

