On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

I’ve had the blahs this week, and I’ve been trying to deal with it in the usual way, by writing about it. I haven’t made much progress, though, so I spent a good bit of the day catching up on e-mail and trying to help my brother untangle the red tape that has kept Mom from getting her survivor benefits from Dad’s pension for eleven months. I got as far as I could with the pension and turned my attention back to the post. I looked at my notes and thought, Naaah, that’s not it. Then I thought back to an e-mail I sent to my friend in Florida. Yeah, that pretty much sums it up. So, with a few edits, here it is.

It’s been busy around here, at least busy compared to what the usual retired life is like. We had extra prayer meetings and choir rehearsals in preparation for Easter, and we’ve joined a home Bible study group. We’re continuing to clear and burn the dead trees we’ve felled, and we’re reclaiming the wilder areas of the lot a little at a time. I’ve become quite expert at driving the lawn mower out of a hole while David puts boards under the wheels!

My computer is acting up. Sometimes I feel like doing what the dad did to his daughter’s laptop on the Facebook video – taking one of David’s guns to it. Of course, David’s reaction is the typical male reaction when a woman complains that a car or anything else isn’t working correctly. He raises an eyebrow and assumes it’s operator error.

On the upside, Mom is stable and holding her own for the moment. Jim and Jo Lynn invited us up next week to celebrate my birthday. With the price of gas, I’m not sure if another road trip is a good idea right now, but a girl only turns 65 once. Besides, I need to love on Mom for a while.

After all the positive response to my new book idea, I’m somewhat paralyzed with fear, but I’ll get moving on it soon. I feel a little like the disciples after Easter, waiting for Pentecost, waiting for the Spirit to move.

Well, I don’t have any cheese to go with this whine, so I’ll call it done. Hope all is well with my readers.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Post Easter Whine | by Linda Brendle" (7)

  1. I say go enjoy your birthday and your mom. Are you an April AKA lady too? 🙂 Trust me, I don’t need any cheese if you ever need to “wine” to me 🙂

    • Yes, Krista, my birthday is Monday, the 16th. And thanks for the offer. I may very well subject you to my whines at some time in the future! 😉

  2. I read this article this morning and I certainly thought of you. About halfway down, maybe a bit further, you’ll see what I mean. BTW, hope what I read means we’ll see you next week?

  3. Sue Allen Brown said:

    This was good to read a second time… Happy Birthday again!!! I love you and wish we were whining together.

    • Thanks again!! Maybe (fingers crossed) we can work out a trip to Florida this summer, and it will definitely include a whining session!! Love you, too.

Leave a Reply

