On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

When I finished my post about my brother Jim and his grandson, I sent it to him for permission to publish something so personal. I also told him I had the recent picture I used at the end of the story, but I asked for a picture or pictures of the two of them when Kyle was younger.  What was I thinking? Of course, I got fishing pictures. It’s what he does. Why didn’t I ask the photographer in the family, Jim’s wife Jo Lynn? After exchanging a couple of e-mails with her, she sent me the photos I’m posting here. My intention was to edit the original post and add or substitute a photo or two, but these are too beautiful take a chance that someone might miss them because they’ve already read the story. So here are three more pictures of my brother and his grandson, a real life love story.

“I’ve got you, Kyle. I’ve got you.”

“Hi, I’m your Grandpa, and I’m going to spoil you rotten.”

“There aren’t any fish in it, but it’s a lot of fun anyway.”

Comments on: "More Photos of Grandpa and Kyle | by Linda Brendle" (3)

  1. Let it be known that I also have three other very special grandsons and four beautiful granddaughters. All of them are brilliant and talented–but each of them is unique. The miles and schedules haven’t allowed us to be as constantly in contact with them as with Kyle and his sister, Emma Leigh; but we had each of them for a week each summer until recently, and then “Cousins’ Camps” most summers since then. Jo Lynn and I also are in process of taking each of them on special summer vacation trips when they reach 13 or so. As they say, “Grandkids are your reward for not killing your kids!” And like my hat says, “If I’d known grandchildren were so much fun I’d have had them first!”

  2. Wonderful post today. Very nice job.

    I look forward to your future writings!

    Enjoy Writing? Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

