On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Q. Why do people in small, peaceful towns still lock their car doors?

A. So nobody sneaks a zucchini into the car.

I wrote a post a couple of weeks ago about planting a garden. When choosing what to plant, I should have remembered how well zucchini grows in this climate. When I was still in the Texas work force, home gardeners frequently showed up at the office with grocery sacks full of the stuff, begging people to take some home. Zucchini bread appeared in the break room by the coffee bar. And if your neighbors gardened, sacks of zucchini showed up by the front door when you weren’t home.

I guess zucchini doesn’t grow that well in Florida. The only place I saw it in the six years we lived there was in the grocery store, and it was quite pricey. I was reminded of how bountifully it produces under the right conditions when our door bell rang last night. It was our neighbor who  just returned from a three-week vacation.

“My zucchini went a little crazy while I was gone,” he said. “I brought you a couple.”

And here’s a picture of his gifts. Note the cell phone beside them for perspective.

Guess what we’re having for dinner tonight!

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Monster Zucchini | by Linda Brendle" (6)

  1. Holy cow. If only I like Zucchini.

  2. Sue Allen Brown said:

    When I moved to Massachusetts my wonderful New England neighbors and colleagues had a field day with this Florida girl… but when they told me that if I wanted enough zucchini to make it worthwhile, I’d need to plant at least 10 hills of it, I knew better!

    • If only they had been a little more realistic, you might have fallen for it – and the would have been visited in the night by the Zucchini Fairy!!

  3. Kelly Damian said:

    Two words- zucchini fritters. Yum! Our climate must be similar because mine are taking off too.

Leave a Reply

