On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Five weeks ago, I wrote about the garden I planted and showed you a picture. It was pretty sad looking.

My Charlie Brown garden 5 weeks ago.

It’s still no prize winner, but it’s making progress.

My garden today.

It’s been an uphill battle. This little Anaheim pepper plant is right in the middle, but that didn’t protect it from an aggressive hoard of grasshoppers. They stripped it of its leaves but not of it’s spirit. With a little chemical help from David, the grasshoppers retreated, and the Little Plant That Could is making a comeback.

The Little Pepper Plant That Could

This is my champion tomato plant.

The Rocky Balboa of Tomato Plants

Like any champion, Rocky has had his challenges. He was the first to produce a tiny tomato, but before it got past marble size, it disappeared in the night. Undaunted, my champion popped out four more.

A salad on the vine.

Two nights ago, some hungry critter chewed almost through my champion’s stalk. I don’t know if he’ll make it, but so far he hasn’t wilted.

Ouch!

Nothing bothered the cayenne pepper plants. I guess we don’t have any Cajun critters.

Hot! Hot! Hot!

Since nothing has bothered them, the cayennes have been free to focus on growing and have produced the first harvest. It’s not much, but it’s a beginning, and I see salsa in our future!

The first harvest.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "A Photo Update of My Garden | by Linda Brendle" (6)

  1. Way to go city girl! Proud of you!

  2. Pretty good looking garden, country girl!

Leave a Reply

