On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

English: icon for smartphone (smart phone) rel...

English: icon for smartphone (smart phone) related content (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Santa came early to our house this year. I am now the proud owner of a 3GS iPhone. The question now is, am I smart enough to use it?

I got it early because David, in getting the phone ready to use, inadvertently turned off my old phone. I don’t mind the early gift. It gives me more time to play, and by the time we join my brother and sister-in-law for Christmas next week, maybe I’ll know my way around it well enough to use both thumbs on the keyboard.

The circumstances surrounding the gift also helped add to the Christmas spirit I talked about on Monday. Once I had the new phone in hand, we needed help with the data feed, so we went back to the Senior Center to confer with one of the staff members who has the same type phone and plan. Everybody there was in on the secret, so there were lots of smiles and laughter as they all shared in the fun and gave me their favorite smart phone tips.

Then we went to church tonight, and some of our friends there knew about the phone, too. They were excited that David had pulled off the surprise, even if it was a little early, and they had games suggestions and more tips. It felt a lot like love and Christmas.

The only bad part of the day is that I hadn’t planned several hours of distraction into my writing schedule. I started a post early this morning and wrote a pretty good opening paragraph. That’s as far as I got. Like most children with new toys, I spent the rest of the day playing. I programmed the phone with David’s picture and a motorcycle ringtone for his calls and a train ringtone for my brother. I texted my son and my brother and downloaded my first app. Hopefully I’ll be able to pull myself away from that tiny keyboard long enough to get something written by Friday. Until then, I’ll be exploring my new toy. TTYL!

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Am I Smart Enough for a Smart Phone? | by Linda Brendle" (4)

  1. Have fun with your new toy! Hooray, David, for pulling off the surprise!!

  2. Sue Allen Brown said:

    Good job, DAVID! Love the line “it felt a lot like love and Christmas” and I’m glad you got to experience that feeling in a special way today.

Leave a Reply

