On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Potpourri

Potpourri (Photo credit: Niina C)

Potpourri is defined as “a mixture of flowers, herbs, and spices that is usually kept in a jar and used for scent.” That’s not the kind of potpourri this blog is about. It’s about the alternate kind of potpourri: “a miscellaneous collection” or “a combination of incongruous things.” My sister-in-law Jo Lynn recently posted an article on Facebook, and she said it was especially for me to add to my future-blog-material file. It was attributed to a woman named Regina Brett on the occasion of her 90th birthday. After years of internet experience, I’m a little skeptical of the origins, but the humor and wisdom of some of the thoughts are inescapable. I’ve chosen a few of my favorites for further comment.

Get rid of anything that isn’t useful. Clutter weighs you down in many ways.

I think my former employers followed this line of thinking, and unfortunately, they decided that usefulness diminished with age. On or about my 60th birthday, I was informed that my services were no longer required. I can only pray that my husband doesn’t subscribe to the same school of thought.

Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion. Today is special.

This has always been my philosophy. If I have something nice, I want to use it or wear it, not put it away for “later.” Who knows if later will ever come. But Mom was right the opposite. When I was in high school, she finally got the living room of her dreams – a French provincial couch and side chairs, marble-topped coffee and end tables, and graceful, gold-accented lamps to finish the look. She also got new drapes and an oval mirror to put in the entryway, and she was extremely proud of her beautiful room – but I often wonder if she ever really enjoyed it. We weren’t actually banished to the TV room along with the old furniture, but we were strongly discouraged from sitting on the new stuff unless we had company. It was the same with the nice dishes and the nice table linens.

Mom also loved nice sleepwear, at least she loved to buy it. But since she had a history of illness, she always put away the nicest gowns and robes “in case I have to go to the hospital.” When she digressed to the point of needing help in getting ready for bed, I found a beautiful nightgown that I she had saved for either her next hospital stay or her funeral. It was a soft pink flannel with a satin yolk embroidered with flowers. The first time I put it on her, she smiled tentatively.

“Whose is this.”

“It’s yours, Mom. I found it in your dresser.”

Her face glowed with pleasure as she felt the soft material and admired the intricate needlework. She enjoyed it much more then than she would have later.

Forgive but don’t forget.

I don’t agree with this one – mostly. I agree that you should learn from past experience to the extent that, if someone hurts you, you shouldn’t give them the same opportunity again. But if you hang on to the hurts, I question if you’ve really forgiven.

I had an experience where someone hurt me and drove the knife in deeper with a hurtful letter. After lots of work and prayer, I forgave the person, and filed the letter away. But from time to time, I had a little pity party and pulled the letter out, reading over it again to no good purpose except to relive the pain. Then I heard someone say, when asked if she remembered a past wrong, I distinctly remember forgetting that. It occurred to me that my forgiveness wasn’t complete as long as I hung on to the physical evidence of my hurt. I pulled the letter out one last time and shredded it. Now I remember that there was a hurt and a letter, but I distinctly remember forgetting the details.

God loves you because of who God is, not because of anything you did or didn’t do.

I agree with this one completely, and I’m so grateful for it. I know myself pretty well, and I know that, without His help, no matter how hard I try I can never do anything that is worthy of His love.

When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.

‘Nuff said.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Potpourri | by Linda Brendle" (4)

  1. Another good one. I am always glad i stop and read your blog…

  2. I don’t know how I missed this blog but it’s a good one. I’m one of those instant gratification girls, so if I get something I really like it gets used, worn or eaten as soon as I can. Instead of saving it, I just stock up. lol There have been times, when I was younger and thinner :(, that I had at least 12 pairs of the same jeans because I loved the first pair so much. lol

    • Krista, maybe we should go back to that way of shopping – find something on sale that we love and buy all they have in our size. It might an incentive to stay thinner if not younger. Do you think that would work? Probably not! Anyway, glad you liked the post.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

