On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

David…like somethin’ from the oven. That’s the relationship advice we heard from the Pillsbury Doughboy, aka Poppin’ Fresh, beginning in the mid-60s. If you love someone, show them by baking something nice and fattening. That’s what I’m doing today. It’s David’s birthday, and I just put a three-layer German chocolate cake in the oven.  It’s his absolute favorite cake of all time.

I don’t do this every year. We’ve spent his last two birthdays in Louisiana with his family, so his mom and sisters have shouldered the cooking duties. The year before that, we had just moved to Texas and were still living the RV. I love my little convection/microwave, but there was no way to fit three layers in it, so I went to the bakery.

This year we’re home, and I have a reasonably sized kitchen, so I got out my recipe, visited the groceryCake Mess store and went to work. It’s not an easy project. There are lots of steps, it’s a thick, heavy batter and all I have is a hand mixer that’s almost 50 years old. Throw in a pair of arthritic hands, and it’s quite an undertaking. But I got ‘er done, at least halfway.

The frosting is a piece of cake, pun intended. It’s a boiled frosting that doesn’t require the mixer, and it just goes between the layers and on top. Most of my cakes end up with the frosting puddled on the plate, so I love it when I don’t have to deal with frosting the sides.

Davids CakeThe project comes along with a little bit of guilt. I don’t know how loving it is to give a 65 year old man with high cholesterol a cake that, including the frosting, uses 3 ½ sticks of butter, 8 eggs and 4 cups of sugar along with other assorted goodies. Before you jump to conclusions, there’s no big insurance policy hiding in the file cabinet. But David is a simple man with simple needs. He rarely asks for anything and almost never complains about anything. So if I can show him a little lovin’ from the oven once in a while, I’ll take the chance.

Happy Birthday, Sweetheart!

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Nothin’ Says Lovin’… | by Linda Brendle" (6)

  1. Sue Allen Brown said:

    I can soooo taste it! YUMMY! Wish we were coming for dinner.

  2. Dee Sligar said:

    Enjoy that cake! Sounds yummy!

  3. That’s an excellent birthday cake, though I may be partial to it too. 🙂 And it’s only once a year so through cholestorol to the wind and let him enjoy your work guilt free. I think birthdays should be a free pass anyway. Tell David I said happy birthday…and I’m I little jealous of his cake. 🙂

    • I shared your happy birthday wish, and he said thank you. If you were closer, you could drop by for cake and coffee – there’s plenty left (but all I have is decaf).

Leave a Reply

