On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Irises2Monday I wrote about how the old Yiddish proverb, “Man plans and God laughs” has been evidenced in my life recently, specifically in relation to my garden. My brother Jim’s comment on that post was “God laughs, indeed! But God also grants the blooms!”

Reflecting on what he said, I realized that his comment expressed one of the reasons I’m so fascinated with gardening. Oh, I like being outside, digging in the dirt, feeling the warm sun on my back and the cool breeze on my face. I enjoy choosing the seeds and bedding plants, arranging them in neat rows, fertilizing and watering. But my favorite part is watching God do His part. I love discovering news shoots as they fight their way through the dirt and spread their first leaves toward the sun. Like a child counting gifts under the Christmas tree, I check and re-check, looking for new buds and blooms.

I don’t believe in magic, at least not the rabbit-out-of-the-hat kind or the charms-and-spells kind. But Day Lilies2I believe in the magic that happens when God takes a seed, some dirt, some water, and some sunshine and turns it into something beautiful.

Paul talked about how the same kind of magic happens in the lives of people when a seed of faith, some spiritual food and the sunshine of God’s grace produce something beautiful. He said it like this:

I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow.                                 1 Corinthians:  3:6 (NLT)

Arms spreadWhen God gave the law to Moses, He gave these words for the priests to use in blessing the people of Israel:

May the Lord bless you and protect you. May the Lord smile on you and be gracious to you. May the Lord show you His favor and give you His peace.   Numbers 6:24-26 (NLT)

As God smiles on you, may He also grant blooms in your life.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "God Grants the Blooms | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Linda can you imagine what the Garden of Eden looked like before sin? I too love planting and watching God’s creation of plants. Today is the first day of spring and it snowed here in Michigan. Guess we have to wait for the lilacs for a few more weeks. Blessings

Leave a Reply

