On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Helen Hagan Robinson, my beautiful mother, probably around 19 or 20 years old

Helen Hagan Robinson, my beautiful mother, probably around 19 or 20 years old

Today was my first Mother’s Day without Mom, and it wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought it would be. She passed away a few days after Mother’s Day last year, and I expected to be sad and weepy today. Instead I spent the day imagining her the way she is now, whole in mind and spirit and ecstatic in the presence of God. During the worship service this morning I could almost hear her harmonizing with me. There were tears, but they were tears of joy as I remembered the many times we sang together while she was here.

I know where you are, Mom, but I don’t know the address, so I’m sending my greeting through cyberspace. Happy Mother’s Day to the sweet woman who gave me life, who taught me to love God, who taught me to be a lady, who loved me as only a mother can.

With all my love,

Linda

Comments on: "Happy Mother’s Day, Mom | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. This was my first Mother’s Day without my Nan. I thought I would be devastated. I keep thinking about all the love she gave me. She makes me want to be more like her. I have always sent a gift to my mom, but this year I wanted to and I called her. She was the woman I knew when I was little. She looked after my Nanny for her last few weeks without thinking about herself. Then she looked after my Grandad. It may sound condescending, but I am so proud of her…

Leave a Reply

