On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

RFKCA Visitor

Wednesday morning my throbbing ankle woke me early, but with a lot of prayer and a little determination, it’s amazing what you can do on one foot. I was sitting in a relatively quiet corner, dressed and contemplating the long walk to the dining hall, when one of the girls came running breathlessly down the hall.

“Miss Linda, there’s a MAN asking for you!”

I heard giggles and whispers as the girls speculated on the identity of my visitor.

“I bet it’s her huuuusbaaaaand,” someone said in the same sing-song voice we used in my childhood when we accused a couple of sitting in a David eating grooms caketree, k-i-s-s-i-n-g. My relationship with David was already a source of awe and wonder as the campers, both boys and girls, became aware of the quick looks and brief greetings that flickered between us when we passed each other in the camp chaos. My girls were especially amazed to find out that we had been married for 13 years.

“How can you stay with one man for that long? Boys are all such JERKS!”

It gave me lots of opportunity to talk about the importance of asking God to send you the right man and of valuing yourself enough to wait for him. But this morning, it wasn’t David who was waiting for me; it was my ride. The nurse had sent a staffer to pick me up, and as I climbed into the golf cart, our girls took off running, daring us to beat them to breakfast.

Birthday Excitement

Happy Birthday

Happy Birthday (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The dining hall buzzed with more excitement than usual – today was everybody’s birthday. Most of our campers had never had anyone who cared enough to give them a party or even acknowledge their birthday, so today we were having a huge birthday bash. It wasn’t scheduled until after dinner, but the celebration began early as servers and staffers greeted everyone with an enthusiastic “Happy Birthday,” and hugs were exchanged all around. Uncle Steve made his rounds, decorating everyone with birthday stickers and teaching us how to balance spoons on our noses.

Say ‘Yes’ to the Dress

After breakfast, instead of dancing in the Chapel the girls went to “Say ‘Yes’ to the Dress.”

Silk dresses at the MoMo Falana fashion show

Silk dresses at the MoMo Falana fashion show (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tomorrow was the day of the Princess Tea Party, and every princess needs a dress. The covered walkway around the Chapel had been turned into a boutique that rivaled any bridal shop at the mall. There were racks and racks of donated prom dresses, bridesmaid dresses, and flower girl dresses of all sizes, shapes, and colors. It was our job to help 78 young ladies find the perfect dress in less than an hour. Safety pins and creativity were used to adjust hems and straps, to turn a dress that didn’t really fit into a gown that made a little girl who had never played “dress up” feel beautiful.

I wasn’t a very good patient that morning. Instead of sitting with my foot elevated, I followed Jonatha and Sue on their shopping expedition. I moved slowly, so they had already chosen a dress by the time I got there. But I was there in time to adjust the hem on Jonatha’s pink, sequined dress and to see the look on her face when she looked at herself in the mirror.

“I feel like I’m dressed for the prom,” she said, her eyes wide with the wonder of what she saw.

And I was there in time to reassure Sue that the dress she had chosen after looking at EVERY dress on the rack, was absolutely perfect. And judging from the look on her face when she saw herself in the mirror, she believed me.

Where do we go next?

But the tea wasn’t until tomorrow, and there was a lot on the schedule before then. Judi took our girls’ dresses back to the dorm while I herded them to an activity center. We had pillows to make, and it was still everybody’s birthday.

Blessings,

Linda

For more information, go to the Royal Family Kids website.

I’m going to Camp: Can a Week Make a Difference? 

Royal Family Kids Camp: Getting Ready for the Kids

Royal Family Kids Camp: What’s In a Kid’s Name? 

Royal Family Kids Camp: Swimming, Activity Centers, and Issues 

Royal Family Kids Camp: Chapel, Dinner, A Meltdown, and More

Royal Family Kids Camp: The Zip-Line

Royal Family Kids Camp: Slip ‘n Slide and Slip and Fall

Comments on: "Royal Family Kids Camp: Say “Yes” to the Dress | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Linda this is like reading a book that I don’t want to end. I love the pic of your wedding too. Blessings

Leave a Reply

