On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Out of IdeasSeveral months ago I noticed that my blog traffic was lagging. I still had my faithful followers, and a new reader popped in from time to time, but I wasn’t getting that mind-boggling kind of growth that makes the publishers beat a path to your inbox. I consulted with my main writing guru, my son Christian Piatt, and I read several “how to” articles on increasing blog traffic. I didn’t learn anything new, but I was reminded of the NUMBER ONE thing a blogger is supposed to do to build traffic – be consistent.

I’ve tried several times to blog on a schedule, but after a few weeks, I fall into the same old hit or miss pattern. But this time I was determined it would be different. I made up my mind that, regardless of what happened, I would post a blog on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and this month I added an Alzheimer video by Rick Phelps on Sundays.

I’ve kept to the schedule and even got my posts written a day ahead so I could schedule them to go live at 9:00 am (CDT).  It’s been working pretty well – until today. I got up with nothing scheduled and no inspiration. I argued with myself that missing one day wouldn’t matter, and like a student facing her teacher without her homework, I thought of all kinds of excuses why I don’t have a post. Here are my top ten:

  1. My grandmother died (20 years ago).
  2. I used all my good ideas for the sites that require exclusive articles.
  3. I was too depressed after the Cowboy game.
  4. I was too engrossed in the novel I’m reading.
  5. I had to go to a church ice cream social.
  6. My dog ate my mouse.
  7. I was upset that I have to wear this stupid boot another six weeks.
  8. I had a brilliant post half written, but we had a power surge and I lost it.
  9. All the other bloggers already wrote about all the good stuff.
  10. My muse is on hiatus due to the impending government shut down.

So, as my Aunt Fay would say, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Blessings,

Linda

Freedom’s Just Another Word for Nothing Left to Write | by Linda Brendle

Writing – How Did I Do That | by Linda Brendle

Why Did I Become a Writer | by Linda Brendle

 

Comments on: "Top Ten Reason Why I Didn’t Write a Blog for Today | by Linda Brendle" (6)

  1. Love it!!! Keep on writing. I look forward to your blogging . . . is that a word?

  2. Sue Allen Brown said:

    I needed a laugh!

  3. Donna Wheeler said:

    Well done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

