On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Demon

Demon (Photo credit: ark)

In Matthew 12:43-45 Jesus told a story about evil spirits. Here’s how it goes:

43 “When an impure spirit comes out of a person, it goes through arid places seeking rest and does not find it. 44 Then it says, ‘I will return to the house I left.’ When it arrives, it finds the house unoccupied, swept clean and put in order. 45 Then it goes and takes with it seven other spirits more wicked than itself, and they go in and live there. And the final condition of that person is worse than the first. That is how it will be with this wicked generation.”

If you substitute “virus” for “evil spirit” and “computer” for “person,” I think that’s what has happened to my computer.

I’m not great at keeping current on the maintenance of my computer. We have limited bandwidth on the WiFi card we use at home, and when we take our computers to the Senior Center to take advantage of their unlimited WiFi, I’m more likely to spend my time researching articles and looking for photos to go with them than updating programs.

Last week I decided it was time to run a malware scan, and it said it had been 75 days since I had

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware version 1.46 - a pr...

Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware version 1.46 – a proprietary freeware antimalware product (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

updated the software. OOPS! I wasn’t too worried because the scan only turned up one malicious item – something with “PUP” in the address. I clicked on the “sweep this evil spirit out of my house” button and told David we needed to take our computers to the Center the next day.

In addition to being lax in maintenance, I’m also somewhat challenged when it comes to updates. First, I always have to ask David where to find them, and second, I sometimes click the wrong buttons. This time was no exception. With proper prompting, I found the right site, but there were two “Download” buttons. One was for the software and one was apparently for every current virus making the rounds of cyberspace. Of course, I clicked the wrong one. I realized my mistake, but not soon enough.

Before I could take corrective measures, virus alerts began to pop up on my screen. In spite of it all, I managed to get the updates done and began to “sweep out the house.” The CCleaner found its usual number of suspects and fixed them, but the malware program found 123 of the “PUP” thingies. The real problem came when I tried to run the virus scan. It got to 66% or 84% and stopped. After the 3rd or 4th try, it finally completed a scan and removed 11 “malicious items.” Relieved and feeling confident that my computer was safe, I hibernated it and packed up to go home.

Over the next several days, my computer refused to wake up from hibernation a number of times, and once I forced it to close and re-open, it froze up after a few minutes. David has spent many hours scanning and running tests, and he’s still working on it.

On Sunday afternoons I have a little computer work I do for the church, so yesterday I booted up and gave it a try. It took me 30 minutes and 3 re-boots to do what I usually do in 10 minutes or less. I gave up and wrote this post by hand on a steno pad, and now I’m typing it on the church computer while David is in a meeting.

I don’t know what will happen next, whether he’ll get mine fixed or whether we’ll become a one-computer family with time sharing arrangements. Maybe I should have left well enough alone and forgotten about the updates. It seems that my final condition may be worse than my first.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "My Computer Is Possessed | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. I learned this year that there is only one cure for this. Buy a Mac. You won’t have to worry about about your of this stuff any more!

    • That’s what my David always says. He was a Mac man until he needed a PC to run a stock trading program he wanted to use. When any of our PCs give us trouble, he never fails to point out that this wouldn’t happen on a Mac.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

