On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

image001Yesterday I signed a piece of paper, and my life changed. Oh, it didn’t really change all that much. We still ate a simple dinner at home and watched a movie on TV. When I looked in the mirror this morning, I didn’t look any different, and I sat in the same chair in the living room when I had my quiet time. And when I turned on the computer and prepared to write this blog post, I was faced with the same blank screen, staring at me and daring me to find the words. And yet it was different.

The first post I published on this blog over two years ago is called “My Book.”  It gives a bit of the history of the book, how it started as a travel journal, penned in a spiral notebook. It tells a little bit about the drama and hilarity that ensue when two people who don’t know much about RV travel and two people who don’t know much about anything spend 53 days inside a 400-square-foot box on wheels. It also tells about the 14+ edits. But it doesn’t tell about the sense of accomplishment and the doubts, the encouragement and the rejections, the hopes and the fears. And it doesn’t tell what a difference a signature on a piece of paper can make.

This is not a fairy tale ending, though – not the happily ever after of the stories of my childhood. There will be editorial criticisms and re-writes, there may be delays and glitches , there will be good reviews and bad ones. But, for now, someone has seen enough value in my efforts to help me share them. My hope is that those who eventually read my book will be encouraged, inspired, or amused, and that my words will make a difference.

Anaiah Press is a Christian digital-first publishing house dedicated to presenting quality faith-based fiction and nonfiction books to the public. A LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos will be released this summer.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Anaiah Press Accepted My Memoir for Publication | by Linda Brendle" (4)

  1. Peggy Chaney said:

    Awesome, Linda! Congratulations!

  2. Congratulations. It is nice when others see what you see in your hard work 😀 Good job! 😀

Leave a Reply

