On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

HodgepodgebuttonThis week I have spent some time exploring new blogs. One of my favorites is called From This Side of the Pond by Joyce Daley. Each Tuesday, Joyce posts a list of questions for a regular Wednesday feature. Here’s how she explains it:

Welcome to this week’s edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge…I hope you’ll join the fun today! Answer the questions on your own blog, then come back here and add your link to the party. Oh, and go say hi to the neighbors because everybody loves company!

When I read her post yesterday, I commented that, although it sounded like fun, I wouldn’t have time to participate this week. However, after I read her answers this morning, I couldn’t resist joining in. So, here’s my first Hodge Podge Wednesday.

1.  Thursday marks the first day of spring…to celebrate would you rather plant a garden or go for a walk in the woods? Would either of those activities be possible on Thursday where you live?

My preference is gardening. I planted some early vegetables several weeks ago, but an unusually late East Texas freeze has left some of my little sprouts struggling. The temperature is supposed to be in the low 70s tomorrow, so I may spend some time weeding and encouraging my babies.

2. When did someone last spring something on you? (or when did you last spring something on someone?)

It’s been a while since I was on either side of a big surprise. I’m not good at surprising others, because I can’t keep a secret. On the other hand, it’s pretty hard to spring anything on me, because at my age, nothing much surprises me. One of my favorite surprises came about eleven years ago. My son and daughter-in-law were on vacation in Hawaii when I received a phone call. When I looked at the caller ID, I was worried, afraid something had happened. Instead, I received the welcome new that I was going to be a grandma. That surprise has been hard to top.

3.  We often think of spring as a time for new beginnings. What’s something you’d like to start doing this spring?

Last month, I went for my annual physical. All my reports looked pretty good, but my pesky triglycerides were still high. My doctor told me he was reading a book called Wheat Belly, and he suggested that I trying cutting wheat out of my diet. Since I am a dutiful patient, my husband and I have embarked on what I call “The Great Brendle Wheat Belly Experiment.” I don’t know how it will work out in the long run, but I’m hoping it will be the beginning of better health for us. For now it’s providing lots of writing material.

4. Where do you like to sit in a movie theatre? When did you last sit there, and what were you watching?

When we go to the theater, we sit as close to the middle as possible. It’s been a long time since we’ve been to a theater, though. I think the last movie we saw was The Life of Pi. Our favorite place to sit when watching movies is in our own living room.

5. When you meet someone for the very first time, what do you want them to think about you?

When I first meet someone, I want them to feel like I am truly glad to meet them. I want both of us to leave the encounter feeling that our meeting was a special part of our day.

6. March is frozen food month (yes, really!). Besides ice cream (gotta make you think a little) what’s your most often purchased frozen food item?

Blue Bell would have been my first answer. To balance the ice cream, I buy a lot of frozen vegetables. If I had to narrow it down, I’d say I buy more broccoli than anything else.

7. What’s something you avoid?

Based on my answer to the third question, I’m avoiding wheat products. Aside from that, I avoid confrontation when at all possible. My capitulation skills are much better than my conflict resolution skills.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Both our church family and our community have suffered tragic losses recently. One incident involved a thirty-one-year-old mother who died suddenly of a pulmonary embolism, and the other concerned a fourteen-year-old boy who died in an accidental shooting. We have all been made acutely aware of how precarious and precious life is, and we are all making an extra effort to hold our friends and family close. As spring arrives with the promise of new life, hug those you care for, and tell them how much you love them.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "A Hodge Podge of Spring Questions | by Linda Brendle" (10)

  1. I’m so glad you joined in today : ) You’re right-that will be a hard surprise to beat! Good luck with the wheat. Eating has gotten so complicated, hasn’t it?

    • Thanks, Joyce. It was fun.

      You’re right about eating being complicated. The foods that will kill you or cure you change from one day to the next!

      Thanks for stopping by, and happy first day of Spring.

      Blessings,
      Linda

  2. I’m writing a poem for March Madness today, but as I was searching for things I read your comment – and knew I really needed to stop by and pay you a visit! Thanks so much for your kind words! This Hodge-Podge looks like fun, but as you said, it will be difficult this week. I’ll stop back on my train ride home and maybe get a post done on the tracks!

    • Thanks for stopping by in the midst of your own “March Madness.” I don’t know how much of an author I would be if I still had to commute to work every day! Happy first day of Spring.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  3. I enjoy wheat related products so much, I always feel bad enjoying them in front of those who can’t.

  4. I, too, avoid confrontations as much as I can. I’m so sorry for the losses your church and community has suffered. Those are both very difficult things to deal with.

  5. Miss Debbie said:

    Hi Linda! It is wonderful to meet you! Thanks for visiting my place. You are brave to try the wheat-free diet. I am such a bread and pasta person, that would be really hard for me. I have started eating whole wheat products which I think is better. I remember my first “You”re gonna be a grandma” call…it was about 12 years ago and it changed my life! Grand #7 is due in May…woohoo!! 🙂 Look forward to getting to know you better!

    • Good Morning, Miss Debbie! Thanks you for your visit and for your uplifting comment. I look forward to getting to know you, too, and to hearing all about your grands.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

