On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

A2Z-BADGE-0002014-small_zps8300775cThe right-hand margin of my blog site has been a little cluttered lately. The first new item to appear was the count-down to my cover reveal followed by the cover itself. Now I’m counting down to my book trailer reveal. In all the confusion, the badge announcing my participation in the 2014 A to Z April Blogging Challenge may have been lost.

The A to Z Challenge is an annual event during which participating bloggers agree to post every day except Sundays during the month of April. The writer is free to choose his or her own theme for the month, but each of the twenty-six posts is to begin with or to feature a letter of the alphabet.

One morning before I actually signed up, I finished my daily quiet time and sat for a few minutes pondering the commitment I was considering. Consistency is not my strong suit as a blogger, and I didn’t want to begin something I couldn’t finish. In addition, I was undecided about a theme for the month. The books and prayer aids I use during my devotions were still in my lap, and when I glanced down, the answer was right there.

In January of 2013 our church hosted a ladies conference called Redeeming the Time. Our speaker was Edwina Patterson, and since she is located in the area, we had the privilege of spending a lot of time in prayer with her during the planning process. At one of our meetings, she passed out copies of one of her favorite praise guides title “Alphabet GOD IS.” That alphabetical list of the names and characteristics of God was on top of the stack in my lap when I looked down. So, I made the decision and signed up.

Follow along with me in April as I study and write about the names of God. Some of the more obscure letters may prove to be quite interesting!

Those who know your name trust in you,
for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.  Psalms 9:10

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge Theme: The Names of God | by Linda Brendle" (10)

  1. This is an awesome opportunity! I am so proud of you and the joy I know you will receive studying the names of God. Blessings!

  2. Sue Allen Brown said:

    Thanks! This will be fun AND instructional AND inspirational!

  3. All the best with the challenge– I’m sure your posts will inspire us all.

    Damyanti
    Co-host AZchallenge 2014

  4. What an interesting topic! I look forward to returning over the course of the month. And also to your caregiving book–congratulations on that!

  5. This is such a wonderful theme, and I look forward to following along. I have a theme, but am still kind of tweaking it. I’ve dedicated some time tomorrow to working on my A-Z posts. I can’t believe it starts next week-scary fun : )

    • Thanks, Joyce. I’m a little intimidated myself, but I agree that it will be fun. Looking forward to your posts, whatever your theme!
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

