On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

HodgepodgebuttonI enjoyed Hodge Podge Wednesday so much last week that I decided to participate again. Hodge Podge Wednesday is a weekly feature on Joyce Daley’s blog, From This Side of the Pond.  Thanks, Joyce, for another list of interesting questions and for providing the opportunity to learn about other bloggers.

1. March is known as the windy month. Which of the following phrases best fits your March so far…’throw caution to the wind’, ‘three sheets to the wind’, ‘run like the wind’, or ‘see which way the wind blows’?

So far, I’ve been running like the wind. More accurately, I’ve been sitting at my computer while my mind and my fingers have been in constant motion. First, I worked on edits for my memoir, A Long and Winding Road: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos. My manuscript is now back in the capable hands of my editor, so I’ve been working on the A to Z April Blog Challenge. I’m hoping to get those posts written and scheduled in advance so next month can be a time to stop and smell the roses.

2. Your favorite green food? Your favorite dish made with your favorite green food?

I never realized how many green foods there are until I tried to narrow it down. I think my favorite, or at least one of them, is fresh spinach salad with strawberries and glazed pecans dressed with a sweet, poppy seed dressing.

3. Ever been locked out of your home-car-office-anywhere? Do tell!

When Mom and Dad lived with me, Mom loved the idea of going shopping, but the reality rarely lived up to her expectations. When faced with walking from the car to the store and then making decisions about what to buy, she usually chose to wait in the car. Always more interested in sitting than walking, Dad was more than happy to keep her company.

The first time or two they stayed in the car, I left the keys in the ignition in case they wanted to raise or lower the windows or listen to the radio. One afternoon I finished my shopping and was surprised to see them sitting by the door.

“Hi, did you think of something you needed to get?”

“No, we got hot.”

As they struggled to their feet and headed toward the car, I envisioned the windows down and the doors open. Fortunately, the windows were up and the doors were locked. Unfortunately, the keys were still inside. After that, I always made sure I had a spare key in my purse.

4. Yoda, Kermit, Shrek, The Wicked Witch of the West, Oscar the Grouch, The Grinch, or Mike Wasowski (Monsters Inc.)…of the green Oscar_the_Grouch_1characters listed, which one’s your favorite and why?

 My favorite character out of this list is Oscar the Grouch. From the time my son Christian was able to focus on the television set, he was a Sesame Street fan. On laundry day, after I had emptied the large plastic trash can I used as a hamper, he climbed into the can and spent the rest of the day being Oscar. Christian had Oscar’s voice down pat, but he wasn’t nearly as furry.

5. “The first task of a leader is to keep hope alive.”~Joe Batten Do you agree? Why or why not?

 Although keeping hope alive is important, I think the first task of a leader is to help the group define its hope.

6. Share a favorite song with an emotion in its title.

 Amazing Grace.

7. What’s a road trip you’d like to take?

 Any road trip in our motor home would be a dream come true. Our first extended RV trip in 2007 not only provided the basic story line for my book but also ignited a wanderlust in my husband and me that made us want to go on the road full time. However, our caregiving responsibilities kept us from following our dream at that point, and now the price of diesel stands in our way. One day, though, we’ll be back on the road, and you’ll be able to read all about it right here on my blog.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

During my years as a caregiver, I sometimes had trouble maintaining a positive attitude, and I knew my negativity was affecting Mom and Dad. My sister-in-law kept a gratitude journal, and I decided to follow her example. It helped, and although Mom and Dad have been gone for a while, I have continued the practice. I have a small spiral notebook on the end table in my little corner of the living room, and each morning I write down three things for which I’m grateful. This morning I’m grateful for Internet friends who share their thoughts and lives with me and who read my musings, and I’m grateful for Hodge Podge Wednesday.

Blessings,

Linda

 

Comments on: "Hodge Podge Wednesday: Green Things and Other Stuff | by Linda Brendle" (12)

  1. I love learning new and fun things about you! 🙂 Have a super terrific Wednesday, Linda!

  2. Miss Debbie said:

    That is a sweet story about your son… a great memory! I like that kind of spinach salad, too…yummy!!

  3. Hmm, that spinach salad sounds great even tho’ I’ve just finished lunch.

  4. Your poppy seed dressing sounds delicious! I have been trying a lot of new homemade dressings the past few weeks. Poppy seed is on the list to try next.

    • Mary Ann, the recipe I use calls for raspberry vinegar. I couldn’t find raspberry, but I found pomagranate, and it is delicious.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  5. the Oscar the Grouch story made me smile! 🙂

  6. My girls grew up in the days of Sesame Street too, and I always liked Oscar. I worked on my A-Z yesterday. I made a schedule to write by, otherwise it all catches up with me. I only do two or three ahead of where we are, which normally works for me. The beginning of the month is a little hectic, so hopefully I’ll get organized and have that first week done today or tomorrow. I feel like my theme is a little too general still, and I need to narrow it. Hoping inspiration strikes!

    • Joyce, I glad I had a little Sesame Street fan–it gave me an excuse to watch it, too! I loved them all, but I think Mr. Snuffleupagus was my favorite. I’m sure your muse will not fail you and that you will be inspired when you sit down to write your A to Z posts.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

