On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

AIn my introductory post on Sunday, I mentioned that, in Judaism, the name of God that is written as YHWH is held in such high reverence that it is not pronounced in the reading of scripture or in prayer. Instead the name Adonai is used.

Adonai is the plural form of the Hebrew word adon which means lord, owner, or master. In modern translations, the words lord or lords are used. When referring to God, the word is capitalized, and when referring to men, it is not.

Some scholars believe the plural form was used for God because of the custom of referring to royalty in the plural, as in “We are not pleased. Off with your head.” I prefer to think that, even before the incarnation of Jesus and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit, the people of God understood His triune nature, that is, God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. This concept is introduced in the first chapter of the Bible.

Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”                                      Genesis 1:26

Adonai first appears in the Bible when God approaches Abram to make a covenant with him, and Abram responds.

But Abram said, “O Lord God, what will you give me, for I continue[a] childless, and the heir of my house is Eliezer of Damascus?”                            Genesis 15:2

Here are some of the other names of God that begin with the letter A:

For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!”                            Romans 8:15

When Abram was ninety-nine years old the Lord appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty; walk before me, and be blameless.                                                          Genesis 17:1

As I looked,thrones were placed,and the Ancient of Days took his seat;his clothing was white as snow,and the hair of his head like pure wool;his throne was fiery flames;its wheels were burning fire. ­                                    Daniel 7:9

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Wikipedia

Blue Letter Bible 

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge–The Names of God–A is for Adonai | by Linda Brendle" (15)

  1. While in the seminary, I used to love these discussions…thanks for taking me down memory lane. I love this!

  2. I love you, Linda. My teacher used to go over these, and I’ve always wanted to make a new study of them. Thanks to you, now I get to. 🙂

  3. Thank you for a wonderful article about the letter A. Interesting thought that in Old Testament, people instinctively knew about the Holy Trinity. I will have to look into that! Thank you for letting me mull over Adonai. 🙂

  4. What a wonderful idea for the challenge!

  5. I feel like I’m going to learn something from your posts this month. Your theme requires a lot of effort on your part, but know that its appreciated! I will love having this theme in one spot. Good luck with the challenge! I’m thinking a few letters will have you really racking your brain!

  6. An appropriate theme during the period of Lent…visiting from the A to Z challenge!

  7. […] A to Z Challenge – The Names of God – A is for Adonai | by Linda Brendle […]

Leave a Reply

