On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Hodgepodgebutton1. Since these questions are posting on the first day of April it seems only right to ask-when was the last time you did something foolish? If you can’t answer that one, try this one-when was the last time someone fooled you?

This afternoon a friend wanted to take some pictures of my husband and me on his motorcycle. The setting at our house wasn’t to her liking, so we moved to a more picturesque location about a half mile away. It was a short ride, so we rode bare headed. Any distance on a bike without proper protection is foolish—but who wants pictures with helmet hair?

2. What’s the last biography or non-fiction book you’ve read? Was it any good?

 The women in my church just completed a study of True Woman 101/Divine Design by Mary A. Kassian and Nancy Leigh Demoss. It was an interesting and enlightening study of Biblical womanhood that supported the dignity and importance of a woman’s role.

3. Garlic-friend or foe? What’s your favorite dish made with garlic?

Now that's what I call garlic.

Now that’s what I call garlic.

 Definitely friend. I have a friendly neighbor who is the garlic king of Emory, Texas. He grows mild, flavorful bulbs that are the size of my fist. He supplies all his friends and family with garlic both for cooking and planting. Last year I planted twenty bulbs and lost a fourth of them to our resident gopher. This year I planted fifty just in case. As for my favorite dish, if I can’t put garlic in it, I don’t cook it.

4. Several Spring flower festivals happen in the US during the month of April. Of those listed, which would you most like to see in person…The Skagit Tulip Festival in Skagit Washington, The Dogwood Arts Festival in Knoxville Tennessee, The North Carolina Azalea Festival in Wilmington North Carolina or the Daffodil Festival Weekend on Nantucket Island, Massachussets?

 I’d like to see the Skagit Tulip Festival in Washington. I love that part of the country, and my grandchildren live in Portland, Oregon—a nice little side trip.

5. How do you choose which blogs to read?  What is something that will make you stop and read every time? Something that makes you say, ‘eh, think I’ll skip this one and move on to the next’?

 I enjoy blogs that are chatty but well written and that are entertaining but also have a point. If a blog is too long or sounds too much like a textbook, I move on.

6. April is National Mathematics Education Month so tell us, when did you last use math?

 The last time I bought groceries. I like to compare price per ounce as well as price per package.

7. In honor of the A-Z challenge kicking off on April 1…choose one word beginning with the letter A to describe your yesterday.

Awesome! My husband and I celebrated our 14th anniversary, and my editor accepted my content edits. (You didn’t seriously expect a writer to stop with one word, did you?)

8. Insert your own random thought here.

“I get by with a little help from my friends.” Those lyrics keep running through my head. The friend who took the bike pictures of us this afternoon is a professional photographer. She knows I have a book coming out this summer, and she decided I needed a new head shot. She brought her equipment home with her and spent a couple of hours this morning coaxing acceptable poses from a less than stellar model. She also snapped some shots of my husband and of the two of us in the wildflowers in her front yard. All I could offer in payment right now was a couple of jars of pickled okra that I put up last summer. She graciously accepted what I had to offer, knowing that I’ll pay her back when the opportunity arises—and if she doesn’t need my help, I’ll pay it forward.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Hodgepodge Wednesday – April Kickoff | by Linda Brendle" (8)

  1. I love this Hodgepodge Wednesday and I love learning new things about you, Linda! We love garlic in our house too. I tried to grow garlic one year but nothing happened. 😦 I hope the pictures turned out good. You stay safe out there in TX and wear a helmet!

    • We definitely have to get together for dinner some time! I haven’t seen the pictures yet, but I’m hoping to get a CD of them today. As for the helmets, under normal circumstances we always wear them. Mine has saved my pea brain many times already, including a close encounter with a dump truck–but you’ll have to wait for my book to read about that!
      Blessings,
      Linda

  2. Uh-oh. I think I let my blog fall into that “textbook” category every once in awhile. I’ll work on it. 🙂

    • LOL! Jessica, informative is fine as long as it’s also entertaining. A blog only becomes “textbook” in my mind if I fall asleep reading it. 🙂
      Blessings,
      Linda

  3. Miss Debbie said:

    Sweet of your friend to take the pictures. I bet she delighted in doing it. Great news about your edits…good for you!!

  4. Happy Anniversary! Seeing the Northwest part of the US is definitely on my travel list.

Leave a Reply

