On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

I hate having my picture taken, but part of being a published author is having a head shot. My sister-in-law Jo Lynn has tried several times to get me to sit for her, but I always came up with some excuse–I was having a bad hair day or I gave up posing for Lent. Then my neighbor Connie took on the task, and I gave in. She made it relatively painless–instead of going to an intimidating studio, David and I walked across the street and sat on her front porch. While we chatted and her husband quietly manipulated the light with various pieces of colored or shiny cloth, she clicked and coaxed and teased. When it was over, we had some nice shots.

 

A traditional head shot.

A traditional head shot.

A more relaxed pose.

A more relaxed pose.

My scholarly author pose.

My scholarly author pose.

 

Then she turned the camera on David–he should have been a model. She snapped a dozen shots of him, and they were all perfect.

See how photogenic he is.

See how photogenic he is.

Love that mischievous twinkle in his eye.

Love that mischievous twinkle in his eye.

 

After David’s close ups, we tip-toed through the tulips. Actually, there were no tulips, but we sat among the dandelions.

Having my picture made is a lot more fun when I'm with David.

Having my picture made is a lot more fun when I’m with David.

"Hug on him a little bit," she said. No problem!

“Hug on him a little bit,” she said. No problem!

 

We took a break for lunch, and she had us change clothes and pull out the Road King.

Do we look like outlaw bikers?

Do we look like outlaw bikers?

Enough pictures. We're going for a ride!

Enough pictures. We’re going for a ride!

 

All photos were taken by Constance Ashley. Check out her website.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "David’s a Better Model than I Am – Photo Shoot | by Linda Brendle" (8)

  1. Awww Linda, I love all the pics but my favorite is the one where you are hugging David! 🙂 You are a natural in front of the camera! 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    • Natural? If I only had a recording of all the times she told me to relax my shoulders, my lips, my eyebrows, etc.! I think I finally relaxed out of exhaustion. 🙂 The shots with David were much easier, though. His easy-going manner puts me more at ease. Anyway, thank you for your sweet comment.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  2. Linda I love these. Your David looks like a young Kenny Rogers, you know before he messed with all that plastic surgery and your photos are so pretty. What a biker Lovely you are! I have been reading all of your posts but have not been able to comment and I love them all. I am waiting very impatiently for the book. Blessings my friend. Liz

    • Thank you, Liz. You are so sweet! David liked the comparison, especially the “young” part. I’m glad you’re enjoying my posts. I’ve missed seeing you lately. Is everything okay?
      Blessings,

      • No they are not . We need prayers for our family. My heart is heavy trying to figure out what God wants me to do to. I know He is in control and that things have a way of working out, now I need to put my faith in gear and not be afraid. Thanks for asking and pray for us please.

      • Liz, I am so sorry. I have put you on my prayer list and will lift you and your family up daily.
        Blessings to you my friend,
        Linda

  3. Sue Allen Brown said:

    Wow! But I must agree that she had the BEST subjects to work with… love these pictures and the story of joy they tell.

Leave a Reply

