On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

HI lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.      Psalm 121:1-2

There is no shortage of information about God our Helper. After I visited my usual on-line research sites, I had forty-seven pages of notes. It may be a little difficult to keep today’s post to 600 words.

The word most often used in the Bible when referring to God as our Help is the Hebrew word ezer. I recently gained some insight on that word during the study of a book called TRUE WOMAN 101: DEVINE DESIGN. The focus of the book is Biblical womanhood, and one of the early chapters focused on a Bible verse that raises the hackles of many women.

Then the Lord God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.”      Genesis 2:18

Some people have a negative reaction to that verse, which is understandable considering the modern meaning of the word helper. Mirriam-Webster’s on-line dictionary defines a helper as “one that helps; especially; a relatively unskilled worker who assists a skilled worker usually by manual labor.” Based on that definition, it would seem that God created woman as an assistant to man, a domestic slave, so to speak. However, ezer is the word in this verse, the same word that is used throughout the Bible to describe God as our helper.

Our soul waits for the Lord; he is our help and our shield.     Psalm 33:20

For he delivers the needy when he calls, the poor and him who has no helper.      Psalm 72:12

In these two verses, God is described as a place of safety, a place to turn for comfort and strength in times of trouble. He is also described God my helperas someone who provides help that is vital, something that the person could not provide or achieve without help. Taken in that context, being created as a helper or an ezer seems to be empowering rather than demeaning.

Ezer is not the only word that is translated as help in the Bible. I found two other words in searching for Scriptures that describe all three members of the Godhead–Father, Son, and Holy Spirit–as our help.

Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life.      Psalm 54:4

Psalm 54 was written when David was being pursued by King Saul. In the early verses, David is seeking help from God the Father. While still in the middle of his prayer, and long before his problems with Saul are over, David expresses his faith and confidence in God. Warren Wiersbe is quoted on PreceptAustin.org as saying “It’s one thing to cry out to God, but it’s something else to believe that He is going to hear and answer.”

For surely it is not angels that he helps, but he helps the offspring of Abraham.      Hebrews 2:16

In this verse, Jesus is identified as a helper. The word translated helps comes from the Greek word epilambanomai which means to reach out and grab hold of, especially in a time of extreme trouble. The image is of a drowning person who is grabbed and pulled to safety as they are about to go under for the last time.

But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.      John 14:26

In this verse, the Greek word translated helper is paraclete. In other translations, it is rendered as comforter, counselor, and advocate.

Here are some other names of God that begin with H:

You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with shouts of deliverance.      Psalm 32:7

For your Maker is your husband, the Lord of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called.     Isaiah 54:5

But Joshua said to the people, “You are not able to serve the Lord, for he is a holy God.      Joshua 24:19a

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Bible Hub 

Preceptaustin Here and Here

Right from the Heart 

TRUE WOMAN 101: DIVINE DESIGN by Mary A. Kassian and Nancy Leigh DeMoss; Moody Publishers (Chicago) 2012; Pages 85 and 197.

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge–The Names of God—H is for Helper | by Linda Brendle" (10)

  1. Wow Linda! I am blown away by your blog post today! You should consider writing a devotional! Your words are inspiring and I love it! I have never found offense to that passage because as a wife, I am my husband’s helper and he is mine. Together we carry the burdens of life and help each other! God is my helper and I will try to remember that today and every day! Blessings to you, Linda! 😀

    • Thank you, Mrs N. I have to admit that I struggled with that one yesterday. You are the 2nd person that has suggested a devotional. I may have to consider that!.I love that you say that Mr N is your helper, too. Some people miss that part. One night David was putting dishes in the dishwasher (which doesn’t happen all that often 🙂 ). When I said thank you, he just smiled and said, “Well, we’re helpmates, aren’t we?” Have a great day with both your earthly and your heavenly helpers at your side.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  2. You truly have found your gift . . . inspiring. Agree with Mrs. N . . . you should write a devotional. God has gifted you in this area. Much Love!

  3. I love your exposition on the word Ezer. The meaning as you describe it fits the marriage relationship so perfectly. And knowing that we are be that helper in the same way that God is our Helper brings a sense of power to the responsibility. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Thank you for your comment in my blog.

    You have a great theme for the A to Z Challenge, and I’d like to come back to read more.

    “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. (Psalm 46:1 NIV)

    Blessings to you.

  5. “God is my helper” This faith is enough to achieve heights 🙂

Leave a Reply

