On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

To participate in Hodgepodge Wednesday, click here.

To participate in Hodgepodge Wednesday, click here.

1. April showers bring May flowers, or so the saying goes. When did you last ‘shower’ attention on someone or have attention ‘showered’ on you? Did you love it, or did all that attention make you squirm?

I was the center of attention last week when my neighbor, who is a professional photographer, did a photo shoot of me for my author head shot. I loved the results, but I hated being in front of the camera. My husband was there, though, and between the two of them, they made it fun.

2. Share a favorite ‘spring break’ memory. Not talking about just the ‘college spring break’ thing, but any favorite spring break memory you’d like to share. Keep it family friendly please!

 I am so old that we didn’t have spring break when I was in school. We had a school holiday on Good Friday and the Monday after Easter, but that was it. Of course, we didn’t start school until after Labor Day, and we finished before Memorial Day.

3. It’s National Pecan Month…are you a fan? If so, what’s your favorite dish that calls for pecans?

 It would be anti-Texan to be anything but a fan of pecans, and Mom’s pecan pie is my favorite. She’s been gone for a while now, but I do a pretty good job of reproducing it.

4.  ‘Put all your eggs in one basket’, ‘egg on your face’, ‘rotten egg’, ‘walk on eggshells’, or ‘a good egg’…which egg-spression could most recently be applied to your own life?

 I’d say I’ve been putting all my eggs in one basket. As a first time participant in the April A to Z Blog Challenge, I seem to be spending all my time at the keyboard.

5.  In my experience, it’s an exercise in futility to try and write a blog post that will get more hits than the latest cute kitten photos.

6. What’s a favorite song with the word rain in its title or lyrics?

 Singing in the Rain–the song, the movie, and the dance number starring Gene Kelly.

7. What does the word hope mean to you?

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.  Hebrews 11:1

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

 In thinking about the new friends I’m making through my writing, and about the old friend I’m meeting for lunch on Friday, a song we sang in Girl Scouts popped into my head.

Make new friends, but keep the old.

One is silver and the other gold.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Hodgepodge Wednesday – April Shower, Spring Break, and Pecans | by Linda Brendle" (4)

  1. I love pecan pie too! My favorite pecan baked good has to be caramel rolls, though. So delicious and decadent! 🙂

  2. The A-Z is time consuming. It’s why I needed a Hodgepodge break next week. Two posts on Tuesdays and Wednesdays are wearing me out : ) Lots of pecan pie fans in the HP today!

Leave a Reply

