On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

ITherefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.      Isaiah 7:14

20 But as he considered these things, behold, an angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream, saying, “Joseph, son of David, do not fear to take Mary as your wife, for that which is conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. 21 She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.” 22 All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had spoken by the prophet: 23 “Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call his name Immanuel” (which means, God with us).      Matthew 1:20-23

The prophet Isaiah gave the name Immanuel to Jesus 700 years before His birth. Immanuel is a compound name that in Hebrew meansimmanuel03 “God (el) is with us.” Emmanuel is the Roman version of the name. God has always been and will always be with His creation, but Jesus was named Immanuel because He was, as the more common theologian would say, “God with skin on.” The Apostle John put it a little more elegantly in his Gospel:

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.      John 1:14

The child who was born in Bethlehem was called Jesus, a name which means “Savior.” Theologian John Gill explains why He was also given the name Immanuel:

…that He should come to be known in this character, as God manifested in the flesh, and the living bond of holy and most intimate fellowship between God and men…

Some other names and characteristics of God that begin with I are:

God is Immutable (Unchanging)

For I the Lord do not change; therefore you, O children of Jacob, are not consumed.      Malachi 3:6

God is Immortal

25 Of old you laid the foundation of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands. 26 They will perish, but you will remain; they will all wear out like a garment. You will change them like a robe, and they will pass away, 27 but you are the same, and your years have no end.       Psalm 102:25-27

I AM (I will address this name further in Y is for YHWH.)

God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I am has sent me to you.’”    Exodus 3:14

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Our Redeemer Lutheran Church

The Bible Hub 

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge–The Names of God—I is for Immanuel | by Linda Brendle" (8)

  1. Hello, Linda! Popping in from the a–z challenge. I’m a caregiver too, so I came right here when I saw your blog title. I help my folks, who are 90 and 93. They are in an ALF a mile from me, but we do a lot with them to save funds. I write about caretaking a lot on my blog, though not exclusively. You have to keep the laughter in it, don’t you? Otherwise, it’s just sad. come visit me, if you’d like: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Adventures-in-the-Ballpark-Marianne-Ball/394038163950377?ref=hl

    • Hi Mare,
      As my blog title implies, my caregiving duties are behind me, at least until another loved one needs me. For a while, though, it consumed my life, and there were times when humor was the only thing that got me through. I try to share some of that along with the not so funny experiences in my memoir. God bless you for what you’re doing for your parents, and thank you for stopping by.
      Linda

  2. Immanuel. God is with us. — This is a beautiful name.
    God is with us, and we are with God. This is the essence of our faith, isn’t it?

  3. There is a reason why so many songs contain the name Immanuel/Emmanuel!

  4. charlesallenjr said:

    I love the word Immanuel. Just the very thought of “God with us” carries so many worries and concerns away.

    • I agree, Chuck. His presence is what David talked about in Psalm 23 – “Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me.” I don’t think I would be very brave without Him! 🙂
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

