On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

LThis post begins with a confession. Yes, I know it’s late, but aside from that, I had a real “duh” moment while researching and writing it. As often as I have seen, heard, read, spoken, and sung the terms God of gods, King of kings, and Lord of lords, today was the first time I was consciously aware that the first God, King, and Lord are capitalized and the second are in lower case.

For the Lord your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great, the mighty, and the awesome God, who is not partial and takes no bribe.      Deuteronomy 10:17

The first time these titles of the God of Israel appear in the Bible is in Moses’ historical discourse as he prepared to turn over leadership toLord-of-Lords_Shield_md Joshua. The Israelites were surrounded by polytheistic cultures, and Moses was establishing YHWH’s supremacy over all other entities that were called gods. In addition, he was declaring God’s authority and control over earthly kings, princes, and other civil magistrates. These names were also used by David in Psalm 136:3.

The phrase King of kings and Lord of lords appears in the New Testament in 1 Timothy 6:15. Disagreement exists over whether this verse is referring to God the Father or God the Son, but I found no difference of opinion among scholars about the names King and Lord in Revelation. All my sources agreed that these verses refer to Jesus.

They will make war on the Lamb, and the Lamb will conquer them, for he is Lord of lords and King of kings, and those with him are called and chosen and faithful.”      Revelation 17:14

On his robe and on his thigh he has a name written, King of kings and Lord of lords.      Revelation 19:16

Once again, the titles establish His authority over earthly kings, especially those in the ten-kingdom empire who “will make war on the Lamb.” Further, the use of the same name for the covenant God of the Old Testament and for the returning Messiah establish both the divinity of Jesus and that God the Father and God the Son are one and the same—two of the three persons of the triune God.

Other names of God that begin with L are:

For the Lord is our judge; the Lord is our lawgiver; the Lord is our king; he will save us.      Isaiah 33:22

My lovingkindness and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield and He in whom I take refuge, who subdues my people under me.      Psalm 144:2

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?      Psalm 27:1

So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him.      1 John 4:16

This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all.      1 John 1:5

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Bible Hub on Deuteronomy 10:17 

Bible Hub on Psalm 136:3 

Bible Hub on Revelation 19:16 

Believer’s Bible Commentary by Williams MacDonald, Edited by Art Farstad; Thomas Nelson Publishers, Inc.; Nashville, TN; 1995

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge–The Names of God—L is for Lord of lords | by Linda Brendle" (8)

  1. Pondering on the names of God always makes me praise “the Lord of lords.” Reading your first paragraph, I find myself singing ‘Hallelujah Chorus’ in my heart.
    –“And He shall reign for ever and ever.”

    Thank you for sharing a great post every day.

    • Yes, Romi. As I’ve studied and researched for this series, I find God on my mind more and more. Thank you for sharing this journey with me.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  2. Makes me think of “The Hallelujah Chorus” that great work by George Handel! God is also called the Great I AM. That is who He called himself in the Bible. Come visit me if you have the time and the inclination. Today I am number 761 on the challenge list. My location changes daily as they remove those who are not participating, but signed up to do so. Best regards to you. Ruby aka Blabbin’ Grammy

    • Hi Ruby,
      I think several of my readers have been singing the Hallelujah Chorus right along with you! 🙂 I originally planned to use I AM for “I,” but after researching it, I decided to use it in connection with “Y is for YHWH.” I visited your site earlier in the month, but I have fallen behind. I’ll try to get back there in a day or two and catch up with what’s going on with your story. Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  3. Really interesting. I’m not sure I’d registered that thought of the lower case l’s before either. I too was singing the Hallelujah chorus in my head : )

  4. charlesallenjr said:

    I don’t think I had ever put together the fact that this title was used for God in the OT and also for the returning Christ in the NT. That is really cool!

    • Chuck, I have come across a number of interesting things I didn’t realize before I started this study. Funny how that happens. 🙂
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

