On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

PMy flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.      Psalms 73:26

I cry to you, O Lord; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.”      Psalm 142:5

“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”     Lamentations 3:24

The idea of God as my portion started out simply enough, but the more I rolled it around in my head, the more complex it seemed. In the interest of keeping this post down to an acceptable length, I’ve tried to simplify my thoughts by substituting God into the definition of portion.

Dictionary.com defines portion like this:

  1. a part of any whole, either separated from or integrated with it: I read a portion of the manuscript.
  2. an amount of food served for one person; serving; helping: He took a large portion of spinach.
  3. the part of a whole allotted to or belonging to a person or group; share.
  4. the part of an estate that goes to an heir or a next of kin.
  5. Literary. Something that is allotted to a person by God or fate.

Starting with the first definition, if I am a complete or whole entity, and God is a part of that whole, I would be incomplete without Him. My PortionBlaise Pascal said it better in the following quote:

There is a God-shaped vacuum in the heart of every person, and it can never be filled by any created thing. It can only be filled by God, made known through Jesus Christ.

Definition #2, in a spiritual context, would mean that God is my food. In John 4, the disciples left Jesus at the well to go and buy food. When they returned, they were surprised when He showed no interest in the bread they offered Him. Instead, He said, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent me.” If we allow ourselves to be filled with God, we can be satisfied regardless of our physical circumstances.

Number 3 and number 4 go together in my mind, and this is where it gets a little complex, so bear with me. In the early books of the Old Testament, a lot of attention is given to portions and inheritance, the part of the Promised Land that each tribe and family would receive. One tribe, however, received no inheritance. The Levites were called to be priests and to serve in the Temple and received part of the tithes and offerings instead of a land grant.

In Romans 8, Paul said that, as followers of Christ, we have been adopted as sons and have become joint heirs with Christ and are entitled to an inheritance. Peter said in the second chapter of his first epistle that we have become a royal priesthood. This being the case, we are entitled to an inheritance, the same inheritance that was promised to the Levites in Deuteronomy 10:9.

Therefore Levi has no portion or inheritance with his brothers. The Lord is his inheritance, as the Lord your God said to him.

The last definition says that a portion is “something that is allotted to a person by God or fate”–in other words, our portion (God) has been allotted to us by God. In trying to wrap my head around that concept, I thought of what today is–Good Friday. Through the death of Jesus on the cross, God gave Himself to us so we might become His children. He filled the God-sized void in our lives so we could forever be satisfied with God who is our Portion.

Other names and characteristics of God that begin with P are:

He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world.     1 John 2:2

In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.      1 John 4:10

But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand.     Isaiah 64:8

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.     Isaiah 9:6

He will sit as a refiner and purifier of silver, and he will purify the sons of Levi and refine them like gold and silver, and they will bring offerings in righteousness to the Lord.     Malachi 3:3

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Bible Hub – Psalms 73:26

Bible Hub – Lamentations 3:24 

My God Is 

Christianity.StackExchange.com 

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge–The Names of God—P is for Portion | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. I have always loved this name for God. There is a song by the David Crowder band that uses this name. I always think that song is what faith sounds like. It is so powerful and so joyful and so lifting. I think it’s called “How He Loves Us”. Either way – I am really enjoying your series and learning so much.

    • Lisa, I’m not familiar with that song, but I’ll have to look for it. thanks for following along with me on this series. I’m learning a lot, too!
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

