On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

RRock comes from the Hebrew word tsur. In the Psalms, David often refers to God as his Rock in describing His strength, power, faithfulness, and presence.

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.      Psalm 18:2

The Lord lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation.      Psalm 18:46

From the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.      Psalm 61:2

The Jamieson-Fausset-Brown Bible Commentary says that rock in Psalm 18:2 literally means cleft rock, or hiding place. God is our Rock, The Lord is My Rocka solid foundation and a firm reality in which we can place our trust and confidence. In addition, He is our protection and deliverance.

The Rock, his work is perfect, for all his ways are justice. A God of faithfulness and without iniquity, just and upright is he.      Deuteronomy 32:4

My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge, my savior; you save me from violence.      2 Samuel 22:33

The promise of God’s rock-solid faithfulness continues in the New Testament where Paul refers to Jesus  as our spiritual Rock.

And all drank the same spiritual drink. For they drank from the spiritual Rock that followed them, and the Rock was Christ.      1 Corinthians 10:4

“My Hope is Built on Nothing Less”

By Edward Mote, 1797-1874

1. My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

3. His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

Other names and characteristics of God that begin with R are:

Their Redeemer is strong; the Lord of hosts is his name. He will surely plead their cause, that he may give rest to the earth, but unrest to the inhabitants of Babylon.      Jeremiah 50:34

But who can endure the day of his coming, and who can stand when he appears? For he is like a refiner’s fire and like fullers’ soap.      Malachi 3:2

But you, O Bethlehem Ephrathah, who are too little to be among the clans of Judah, from you shall come forth for me one who is to be ruler in Israel, whose coming forth is from of old, from ancient days.      Micah 5:2

Which of the prophets did your fathers not persecute? And they killed those who announced beforehand the coming of the Righteous One, whom you have now betrayed and murdered.      Acts 7:52

And again Isaiah says, “The root of Jesse will come, even he who arises to rule the Gentiles;
in him will the Gentiles hope.”      Romans 15:12

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Hebrew for Christians 

Bible Hub – 2 Samuel 22:3 

Bible Hub – Psalms 18:2 

The Lutheran Hymnal 

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge–The Names of God—R is for Rock | by Linda Brendle" (6)

  1. This is one of my go-to names for God because so many times, I come to the Lord to hold me, protect me and keep me safe! The world can be a scary place and the one constant is the Lord!

    I’m reminded of a song I learned in Sunday School:

    “Jesus is my Rock and He rolls my blues away…”

    LOL! 🙂 So true, though!

    Blessings to you, Linda!

    • Mrs N, I’m so glad this name spoke to you. The cleft rock, a place to hide, is definitely a good place to be when things get overwhelming. I’m not familiar with that song, but I love the concept.

      Have a blessed day with your feet firmly planted on the Rock.

      Linda

      • Here are the lyrics:

        Lyrics:
        Jesus is the Rock and He rolls my blues away
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        3x

        When you’re out on the street and you really feel down and low
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        When you’re out on the street ’cause there’s nowhere else to go
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        When you’re out on the street, well, Jesus gonna save your soul, cause

        Jesus is the Rock and He rolls my blues away
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        3x

        When you wake up in the mornin’ and the sky ain’t bright and blue
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        When you wake up in the mornin’ and the big world’s after you
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        When you wake up in the mornin’, yeah, Jesus gonna pull you through, cause

        Jesus is the Rock and He rolls my blues away
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        3x

        When you look in the mirror and your face causes it to crack
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        When you make it through your day, but you feel like you’ve been attacked
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        Jesus gonna love you and baby, now that’s a fact, cause

        Jesus is the Rock and He rolls my blues away
        (bop shoe bop, shoe bop, whoo!)
        3x

        🙂

      • I can see why you loved it! I love the words even without the music! Thanks for sharing it.
        Blessings,
        Linda

  2. I love this name for God! Our rock and our fortress.

    For a kids’ Sunday School lesson, one of the teachers used a rock and a pile of sand to demonstrate how the house is secure when built on a foundation of rock but can be washed away on sand.

    • Diana, I remember singing a song about the wise man who built his house on the rock and the foolish man who built on the sand. I don’t know if kids still sing that one now, but it was a good one. Thanks for stopping by.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

