On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

WThe Greek word logos is translated in the first verse of the Gospel of John as Word. Later in the chapter, John explains that the Word is Jesus Christ.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.      John 1:1

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.      John 1:14

For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.      John 1:17

Logos means word, specifically the spoken word. In the same way we use our words to explain our thoughts, God sent the Word, Jesus Jesus is the wordChrist, to reveal His mind to us. The best explanation I found was from Verse by Verse Ministry:

Jesus is the Word because He was the means through which the Father brought all physical reality into existence and because He is the One Who represents the Father’s invisible nature and character to that creation. Just as your spoken word is the physical manifestation of your thoughts and personality, Jesus is the “Word” of the invisible God to His creation.

Other names and characteristics of God that begin with W are:

And I will be to her a wall of fire all around, declares the Lord, and I will be the glory in her midst.      Zechariah 2:5

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.      John 14:6

Behold, I made him a witness to the peoples, a leader and commander for the peoples.      Isaiah 55:4

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.           Isaiah 9:6

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Bible Hub – John 1:1 

Verse by Verse Ministry 

Comments on: "A to Z Challenge–The Names of God—W is for Word | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. I must admit – my W post nearly changed to “weary” after this month of blogging, but I always find a smile and wonderful inspiration when I visit your A to Z. Just what I needed this Sunday morning. Thanks

    • I know what you mean, Lisa. I’m counting down those last 3 letters myself. Then again, I’m wondering what I’ll blog about next month! I’m glad the W post helped. Thanks for letting me know.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

