On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

YYHWH or Yahweh is used in the Bible more than any other name for God. It appears 6,519 times in the Old Testament and was first used in Genesis 2:4. It is called God’s personal name, and He first revealed Himself by it in Exodus 3.

These are the generations of the heavens and the earth when they were created, in the day that the Lord God made the earth and the heavens.      Genesis 2:4

13 Then Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?” 14 God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I am has sent me to you.’”      Exodus 3:13-14

By calling Himself “I AM WHO I AM,” God is referring to His self-existence, to the fact that He exists, He has always existed, and He will Yahweh-Godalways exist. As I mentioned in J is for Jehovah-Jireh, YHWH also alludes to a God who reveals Himself unceasingly.

Ancient Hebrew had no vowels, so there is no real agreement about how YHWH, also known as the tetragrammaton, was pronounced. The Jewish people had a great fear of accidentally taking God’s Name in vain, so by the 3rd century A.D., they had stopped saying YHWH aloud. Instead, scribes added vowel points above YHWH to remind readers to substitute less holy names in reading and in prayer. Some scholars believe the resulting name was Adonai and some believe it was Yahova or Jehovah.

Other names and characteristics of God beginning with Y are:

El Yisrael – The God of Israel

Awesome is God from his sanctuary; the God of Israel—he is the one who gives power and strength to his people. Blessed be God!      Psalm 68:35

El Yeshuati  – The God of my Salvation

Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the Lord God is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation.      Isaiah 12:2

Yah

Sing to God, sing praises to his name; lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts; his name is the Lord; exult before him!      Psalm 68:4

Blessings,

Linda

Sources:

Wikipedia 

Got Questions? 

Blue Letter Bible

Hebrew for Christians 

Leave a Reply

