On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

To participate in Hodgepodge Wednesday, click here.

To participate in Hodgepodge Wednesday, click here.

1. April showers bring May flowers or so the saying goes. Are you blooming where you’re planted as we begin the month of May?

My husband and I had planned a retirement that included lots of travel. We envisioned traversing the United States in our motor home and on the motorcycle we would trailer behind us. We also planned to throw in a sailing excursion among the Caribbean islands now and then. However, a series of unforeseen circumstances changed those plans, and we now live in a small East Texas community with the motor home serving as a guest house and the motorcycle collecting more spider webs than miles.

We have made lots of friends at the Senior Center where we eat lunch every day, and David has become the go-to guy for anyone with computer problems. I have become known for my on-going war with the gophers in my garden through a “City Girl” column I writer for the local paper. We are both active in our church, and my first book will be released July 1. Yes, I think you could safely say we’re blooming where we’ve been planted.

2. On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being no , big deal and 10 being  full scale panic, rank your fear of spiders.

Probably 5 now, although before we moved to the country, it was 10+. Our home is snug and in good shape, but somehow the spiders manage to find a way in. It’s not uncommon to begin the morning by walking through a web an industrious creature has spun during the night. And when I’m gardening, the more curious ones try to crawl up my arm to see what I’m doing. I’m still not on a first-name basis with spiders, but I can flick them away in a relatively calm manner instead of going into an arm-flailing frenzy.

3. May is National Salad Month (who knew???)…besides lettuce, what are two must-have ingredients in your favorite salad?

It’s hard to choose just one favorite, but I’ll go with Caesar Salad. Along with a nice crispy Romaine and a great creamy dressing, it has to have Parmesan cheese and lots of fresh ground black pepper.

4. I mentioned on my blog last week that my Daughter1 will be moving to Washington State after she is married. Of the following sites in the, Northwest, which would you most like to see in person- Crater Lake (Oregon), Seattle (Washington), Vancouver (British Columbia),  San Juan Islands (Washington),  Mt. Rainer (Washington)  Oregon Coast (Oregon), Mt. St. Helens (Washington), or Olympic National Park (Washington)

We visited Crater Lake a few years ago, but I would like to visit it again. I flew over Mt. Rainier once on my way to Seattle, but I’d like to see it up close and personal. However, what I’d most like to see in the Pacific Northwest would be my son, daughter-in-law, and two beautiful grandchildren who live in Beaverton, Oregon.

5. This coming weekend marks the 140th running of the …when did you last race (literally or figuratively) to cross a finish line?

In March we had a photo scavenger hunt at AWANA. David and I raced all over the 18-acre campus of our church with a team of four eager kids in tow. We got all twenty-four pictures, but in spite of our best efforts, our team came in second.

6. What is something little you love?

That’s a hard question to answer, because when you love something, it becomes big in your heart.

7. Would you say you are more of a visual, auditory, or kinesthetic learner? Elaborate.

I’m more of a visual learner. When attending a lecture or a class or listening to a sermon, I always like to take notes. Even if I never look at them, the act of seeing the thoughts on paper helps me remember them better.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Just before turning my attention to the Hodgepodge questions for this week, I finished my last post for the 2014 A to Z Blog Challenge. It was my first experience with that kind of “pressure” writing, and although I’ll probably do another one in the future, it won’t be right away.

Blessings,

Linda

Leave a Reply

