On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Last week, I wrote about some garden lessons, but I thought I’d show you a few more pictures of my progress.

After my tomato plants were ravaged by the local fauna, David and I put up some netting. It won’t stand up to a Texas tornado if one comes through, and we’ll have to put something over the top to keep the squirrels out when the tomatoes start to appear. For now, though, it will keep the rabbits out, and it will give the cucumbers something to climb on other than the zucchini plants.

Garden fencing 2014

I harvested my garlic last week. I wanted to leave it another week or two, but instead of working on one plant at a time, the gopher started taking one bite out of each bulb. In spite of the fact that I lost about forty percent of my crop to the little critter, I still have plenty to cook with over the next twelve months.

Garden garlic 2014

I harvested a few other veggies this weekend. David is already worried about too much zucchini, but I have plenty of freezer bags. I’ll leave the rest of the carrots in the ground for a few more days so they can get a little bigger. I’m pleased with their shape, though. Since I tilled a little deeper than last year, they’re much straighter. That’s good, but I have to admit that I miss the creative shapes.

Garden Harvest 2014

Whether you grow your own veggies or visit the local farmers market, may you always enjoy what the Lord has provided.

The earth brought forth vegetation, plants yielding seed according to their own kinds, and trees bearing fruit in which is their seed, each according to its kind. And God saw that it was good. Genesis 1:12

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Garden Progress Report – Photos| by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Awww your garden looks great and what a crop of garlic! I love gardening! 🙂

Leave a Reply

