On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Grateful Heart

There were days during my time as a caregiver that my attitude was really bad. I had plenty of excuses and even some valid reasons for my feelings, but being negative didn’t improve things a bit. One day during my quiet time I read something about being grateful, and it stuck with me. I wondered how my attitude would improved if I focused more on the positive.

The next time I went shopping, I bought a small spiral notebook, and I began to keep a gratitude journal. Each day I wrote down at least three things for which I was thankful. Some days the best I could do was to be grateful I had made it through the day. Fortunately, there were positive days when it was easy to come up with more than three things, and on the bad days, it helped to go back and remember.

My caregiving duties are over for now, but I still begin each day by writing in my little spiral notebook. I may have to buy another one soon. When I stop and think about it, there’s a lot to be thankful for.

Blessings,

Linda

Leave a Reply

