On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Isaiah 40 31

During my time as a caregiver, there were days when I didn’t think I had the physical strength to help Mom into and out of the tub and then go through all the bending and twisting required to help her bathe and dress. There were days when I didn’t have the emotional strength to face the blank look on her face or Dad’s when I asked what once had been a simple question. Most of all, there were days when I didn’t have the strength of character to lovingly answer the same question fifteen times in as many minutes. Those were the days when I depended on the source of my strength, claimed the promise  in Isaiah 40:31, and remembered a song I sang as a child.

Jesus loves me, this I know,

For the Bible tells me so.

Little ones to Him belong,

They are weak, but He is strong.

Yes, Jesus loves me.

Yes, Jesus loves me.

Yes, Jesus loves me.

The Bible tells me so.

Blessings,

Linda

A LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available now at:

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Leave a Reply

