On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Moon

When I first began to write, my writing was grammatically correct and had some entertainment value, but it lacked heart. With lots of encouragement and some gentle editorial harassment, I’ve gotten more in touch with my feelings and learned to spill my guts onto the page. I’ve developed my own writer’s “voice,” and I hear that voice speaking the words in my head as I key them into the computer. I feel the rhythm and the pace, and my voice balks when something doesn’t work–and there are times when what I write just doesn’t work.

Sitting down at the keyboard is a little like a roller coaster ride. Sometimes chugging up that first hill, or writing that first paragraph, seems to take forever. Sometimes the terror makes my hands sweat and makes me want to cry out, let me off this thing–and sometimes the thrill is so exhilarating I want to throw my hands in the air and scream as the words seem to write themselves. The ride is always too short, though, and I want to do it again. Even though next time a car might de-rail and send me hurtling into space, or my safety bar might fail at the top of a loop, I get back in line and sit down at the computer again.

Blessings,

Linda

A LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available now at:

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Comments on: "When Writing, Show Don’t Tell | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Excellent advice Linda! 🙂 Each writer has to find their own voice! 🙂 Ha ha, editorial harassment!

    • Thanks, Mrs N. Yes, some of my initial encounters with newspaper and ezine editors were not as gentle as my experience with Jessica! 😉
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

