On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

RunawayRunaway, a western romance by Renee Donne, was released by Anaiah Press two weeks ago on July 29. Today it’s my pleasure to share both my review of the book and a brief chat I had with the author.

About the book:

After Marianne discovers her bankrupt stepfather sold her into marriage to the highest bidder, she flees Philadelphia and heads west to start a new life.

Unfortunately for her danger follows.  First, a stage coach accident leaves her stranded in the middle of nowhere – with an injured driver. And henchmen, hired by her spurned would-be husband, are hot on her trail, threatening to return her to Philadelphia and the man who is determined to own her.

Just when things seem hopeless, Marianne is rescued by a handsome, cowboy who offers temporary refuge.  Knowing she can’t refuse, yet wary of his intentions, Marianne finds herself drawn to this quiet, enigmatic hero. But is he someone she can trust?

My review: Runaway by Renee Donne Is a Sweet, Western Romance

Romance is not my normal genre when it comes to choosing a book to read. Most of the women I read about carry a gun or can bring down an opponent twice their size with a quick kick to the temple. Runaway, however, was a nice change of pace for a lazy summer afternoon.

Renee Donne has written an engaging tale about an interesting cast of characters. You’ll care about some of them, and you’ll detest others, wishing you had the skill to deliver a blow to the head like one of the heroines on my typical reading list. Marianne, Donne’s main character, is not physically brave or aggressive, but she has the inner strength to survive betrayal, danger, and a life that has been turned upside down through no fault of her own. An underlying theme of faith adds another dimension to this sweet, western romance.

The next time you plan to spend some time in a lounge chair by the pool or on a blanket under a beach umbrella, pack your ereader along with your sunscreen. Renee Donne’s Runaway is a nice way to relax before hectic fall schedules call us back into the real world.

I received an advanced reader copy of Runaway in exchange for an honest review.

RDonneAuthor Bio:

Renee Donne is a native Floridian with a penchant for writing books with a western theme. In her head she’s a world traveler and an amateur chef. In real life, she’s a hometown girl with an affinity for fine wine and good friends. Her favorite place to write is sitting on her veranda, overlooking the beach.

Interview:

If you could tell your readers only one thing about yourself, what would you want them to know?

I am really quite shy, and feel that the characters in my stories lead more interesting lives.

Your author bio says you are a world traveler in your head. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

I would love to go to Ireland. My grandparents were from Ireland, and I have always romanticised about going there.

Your bio also says you are an amateur chef. If you were planning the perfect dinner party, who would be on the guest list, and what would be on the menu?

I would invite my closest friends and family; and I would have it catered. Seriously, though, I am rather shy and not into impressing people. I cook for my tastes and hope that my guests enjoy what I prepare. I love trying new dishes and when eating out, I can usually pick out the flavors of a tasty new dish and recreate it at home. Holiday meals are always at my house, and those are the meals I enjoy preparing and sharing the most. So, in answer to your question, the perfect dinner party would be with family and friends, and the menu would be whatever new dish I have been wanting to make.

How did you develop Marianne, your main character? Is she based on a person or several people you know in real life, or is she completely a product of your imagination?

Marianne is pure fiction. In some ways my reactions would be similar in some of the situations she found herself in, but she is not based on anyone that I know.

In your author interview with Anaiah Press, you mentioned that one author who has inspired you is Frank Perretti. What do you find inspiring about him and/or his writing?

When I read This Present Darkness and the sequel, Piercing the Darkness, it opened my eyes to the spiritual battles we face on a daily basis. Peretti draws you into the story in such a way that makes it very real; once I start reading one of his books, it is very difficult to put it down.

What would you say to inspire other up-and-coming writers?

Everyone has a story to tell. Don’t give up on yours.  Each rejection should only inspire you to improve your story. Perseverance reaps rewards.

When your readers finish the last page of Runaway, what do you want them to be thinking and/or feeling?

Sometimes I like to read what I call a “light” story, nothing too deep, but that allows one to relax and “escape” into a good story. I hope the reader is able to do this with Runaway. I wrote it to be an inspiring love story that shows how, with God’s help, people can overcome adversity and find love.

What’s next on your horizon as a writer?

I have a YA urban fantasy that is scheduled to be released through Anaiah this fall. I am also working on a romantic suspense.

Find Renee Donne on Twitter and Facebook.

Runaway is available from the following distributors:

Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iTunes, Smashwords, and Goodreads

Blessings,

Linda

Leave a Reply

