On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Doing Your Best

I believe one of the greatest burdens a caregiver has to carry is guilt. When I was an active caregiver, no matter how good a job I did, I always managed to beat myself up mentally and emotionally for the times I was less patient or less loving that I wanted to be. My tip for today would be this — give yourself a break.

I once read an article in which children were asked to explain what a mother was. One little boy said something like this. “A mother is someone who always comes to your room in the middle of the night when you’re sick. She might say, ‘Oh, damn!’ — but she always comes.”

Caring for an elderly parent or other loved one is one of the most demanding jobs in the world. No one can do it right all the time, but your presence and involvement are more important than your perfection. Do the best you can with what you have to offer today, and know that you are doing a great job!

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Caregiver Quotes and Tips – Doing Your Best | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Very good and sound advice Linda! I had a doctor once tell me after my friend, Fr. Orlando died; “You’ll feel three emotions, Relief that Caregiving is over, Sadness that the friendship has ended, and the strongest feeling you’ll have is Guilt, guilt that you get to carry on with your life. I’ve remembered this sage advice quite a bit during this last six months, as guilt can play such a debilitating part in life. As Caregivers, it is so important to talk about our experience, so that guilt does not overcome us!… Thanks for your kindness!

    • Chris, I know that saying “don’t feel guilty” does not remove the feeling, but just know that you did a wonderful job with the task you were given. As for kindness, caregivers must continue to show kindness and support to ourselves and to each other. As our friends and families age, we will continue to be called on to help until we meet our loved ones on the other side.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

