On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Cover

  • Illustration : streamy digital
  • Model : VictoriaAndrea
  • Photo : shutterstock/depositphoto

About the book: 

Mary Miller never thought much about destiny until God’s Archangel and Messenger, Gabriel, appears. Gabriel reveals she is destined to vanquish Darkness by spreading the Light and she has a revelation: she is the key.

Her first assignment is to restore the soul of a homeless man known only as the Walking Man.  She’s thrust face to face with evil all the while losing her heart to her new love, Joe Deacons. Can she win the battle the Lord placed her in without losing all she loves?

My conversation with N.N.Light, otherwise known as Mrs N:

Mrs N, I have learned a lot about you through our on-line friendship, but I’m a curious person. As Paul Harvey used to say, I want to know the rest of the story.

I know you and Mr N observed your tenth wedding anniversary this summer. How did you celebrate?

Yes we did and to celebrate we went on a summer vacation.  We hadn’t been away on vacation in over three years.  We visited a lovely town and took the train.  It was so nice to get away from the busyness of life and just unplug.  We ate delicious food and met some nice people.

You’ve said you like Pink Floyd, that Love Actually is your favorite movie, and that you like to watch television. What is your favorite TV show?

Right now, we are watching as much college football and all things NFL.  It’s our favorite time of the year!  Other than that, we love Big Bang Theory, Antiques Roadshow, Columbo and Corner Gas.

You describe yourself as an imaginative baker who loves to try new recipes including bread, cookies, cakes and pastries. What has been your greatest success, and what was your biggest failure?

My journey to becoming an imaginative baker has been a rocky one.  My greatest success would have to be my homemade fudge.  It’s a humorous story, if you have a moment.  When I first married MR N, I wasn’t much of a baker.  Sure, I could make brownies or cookies but those were usually from a box.  Once I married a chef (or my own personal Emeril), I was inspired to try new things. 

 MR N told me he loved fudge and I went to work to try to make it for him.  I found a recipe online and followed the directions to the letter.  Something went wrong and it didn’t harden up.  I was crestfallen but MR N told me, “It’ll be perfect chocolate sauce for ice cream.” 

I was determined and for the next five years tried to make creamy chocolate fudge.  One year for Christmas, I decided to try it again.  I had become a better baker and knew more about the chemistry behind candy-making.  I made it, crossed my fingers and voila I made fudge!  It was, and continues to be, my greatest baking achievement.

 My biggest failure has to be the time I tried to make No Knead Bread.  I read about it in the New York Times and I thought that recipe was right up my alley.  Kneading is hard work and sometimes my arms are too sore to make bread.  So I followed the recipe to the letter and it was a complete disaster!  It looked nothing like the picture and tasted like soggy chalk.  MR N was the tester and he tried to stay positive.  I tasted it and it was disgusting!  I threw it out and never tried it again. 

 Lesson learned, if you want bread you have to knead it!

 As an avid NFL fan, which team is your favorite?

 I am a devoted fan of the Minnesota Vikings.  I grew up in Minnesota and I bleed purple and gold.  I am also a big fantasy football fan so I have player favorites from various teams. We have the NFL Ticket so we get a chance to watch all the games on Sunday. 

Who is your favorite writer, and why?

I have several but one of my favorites is Ernest Hemingway.  I was exposed to him when I was fifteen years old.  I read Farewell to Arms and I was instantly hooked.  He was a great writer and he wrote what he wanted.  He didn’t care what anyone else thought.  I love the way he grabs ahold of the reader and doesn’t let go until the final page.  A true inspiration to me as a writer.

What is your all-time favorite book, and why?

Geez Linda, you really ask the tough questions. Just kidding, as a writer, I have many favorite books.  I think my go-to book when I am in need of a getaway has got to be The DaVinci Code.  I love mysteries and it is fun to imagine the possibilities Dan Brown creates.  Death, ancient sects, art, a puzzle to solve and all before they police catch up to them. Time well spent in my opinion.

I can’t wait to read Princess of the Light. Based on the blurb, it sounds as if Mary has to choose between love, even though that love may be somewhat questionable, and her sense of duty. If you had to face a choice between Mr N and what you felt you had been called to do, how would you deal with the situation?

 Wow, talk about a hard question.  Truth be told, I am sure God would never have me choose between my destiny and MR N.  MR N and I work best together spreading the Light.  However, if I had to choose, I would choose MR N.  He is my soul mate, the love of my life and I love him deeply.  Together, he and I would figure out a way to do what I have been called to do.  It’s a tough call but in the end, I would choose love.  You’ll have to read my book to see what Mary chooses.

What is ahead for you as a writer?

Being an independent author, I am working hard on marketing my book.  It’s a full-time job telling people about spreading the Light.  But I am up for it because I truly feel that my book can change people’s lives.

 I am currently writing book two and outlining three more in the series.  I am also writing daily on my blog.

I have one last question. When David and I come for dinner, what will be on the menu?

 I asked MR N about that and he said he would love to make you a five star gourmet meal.  Whatever you and David would like, he will create. I, of course, will be making a delightful dessert for us.

Mrs N, thanks for spending a little time with me today. Best of luck with Princess of the Light and with your continuing writing career. I look forward to that gourmet meal when we can make it from Texas up to Canada.

I just wanted to thank Linda for graciously having me on her blog today.  If you feel led, please go and pick up Princess of the Light.  It is available at many retailers around the world.  Part of the proceeds goes directly to food banks.  Together, we can spread the Light and end hunger!

Blessings,

Linda

Princess of the Light is now available here:

Smashwords | Barnes and Noble | Amazon.com | Amazon Canada | Amazon UK | Kobo | Indigo | iTunes/ iBooks

About the author: 

Author PictureN. Light was born in Minnesota, lived in Southern California only to move to chilly Ontario, Canada to marry her beloved husband MR N. She is blissfully happy and loves all things chocolate, books, music, movies, art, sports and baking. Most of the time you can find her on Twitter or getting new ideas on how to spread the Light on Pinterest.

Part of the proceeds of Princess of the Light will go directly to food banks in order to feed the hungry and help those in need. With only 6,122 books sold, N. N. Light will be able to set up a monthly endowment for the local food bank.

I’d love to connect with you either via email or via these various social media sites:

Website | Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Pinterest | Email | Facebook | LinkedIn | Google+ | Amazon Author Page | Independent Author Network 

 

Comments on: "Interview with N.N.Light, Author of Princess of the Light" (3)

  1. Thanks so much for having me on your blog today Linda! Blessings to you and your followers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

