On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

No one's reading

This Pinterest quote had  my name on it. I have always been self-conscious – fearful of what people will think about what I say or do or of how I look. One reason I began writing so late in life was the fear of criticism. However, with age comes a bit more self-confidence and a bit of the attitude of the Red Hat Ladies – just pull a purple shirt over your aging body, a red hat on over your graying hair, and enjoy your life.

I always write with my readers in mind to a certain extent, but when I really get into the zone, it’s just me and the computer screen. Once I click “Send,” I sometimes forget that people will be reading what I wrote. It’s especially surprising in a small town when you write for the local newspaper. Someone will ask me at lunch if the squirrels are still eating my tomatoes or how my most recent case of poison ivy is doing. At first I think, “Now how did you know about that?” Then I remember that I wrote about it in my last City Girl column.

Writing as if no one is reading is a good tip for someone who write memoir. If you do it right, your readers will feel like they’re chatting with a friend over coffee, getting a private look into the less public parts of your life. If you’re really good at it, they’ll want to come back for another chat real soon.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available now at:

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Leave a Reply

