On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

LeverVotingMachineBoothNo, this isn’t a political rant against “The War on Christianity.” Instead, in honor of Election Day, it’s a brief story about my five-year-old son and a voting booth. It was taken from a previous post titled My Son, the Holy Heretic.

Christian was always an independent thinker. In 1976 I took him with me to vote. I thought it would be good for him to be exposed to the process even if he didn’t understand what was going on. It wasn’t the first time, and definitely not the last, that I underestimated him.

He thought he was going to participate. Even though his dad and I were usually Republicans, and always conservative, he announced to everyone in line that he was voting for Jimmy Carter. Probably against all voting regulations, the poll watchers let me take him into the old-fashioned mechanical voting booth with me. After I made my selections, I let him pull the lever that registered my votes and opened the curtain. It wasn’t until years later that he realized I had disenfranchised him that day and that he didn’t vote for Jimmy.

Now, Christian Piatt is a writer. His brand on his website is Author, Speaker, Antagonist, God Nerd. He writes in a variety of genres including memoir, social/political commentary, satire, and in his own words, general smartassedness, but mostly he writes about faith and spirituality. He has a blog on Patheos call Father, Son, and Holy Heretic. Quite a departure from his Baptist roots, but as I said before, he’s always been an independent thinker.

David and I took advantage of early voting before we went to Louisiana last week. If you haven’t already exercised your right and responsibility, go vote today!

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Disenfranchising Christian | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. I love this story! 🙂 Jimmy would be proud. LOL! Glad you and David voted. 🙂

    • Glad you liked it. He was a constant source! It’s too bad I wasn’t writing then. I’m sure I’ve forgotten some really good ones.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

