On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Before you start

There are times when I have more ideas than I can write down. That’s when I grab a pen and pad and make notes like crazy, because I know these times won’t last. More often, I have a blog to write or a deadline to meet, and I have no clue what to write about. Worry becomes fear, and fear becomes panic as I wonder if the muse has left me high and dry.

Then, I begin to dig into my memory for a pithy story I haven’t told yet, or I dig through my files for an idea I haven’t used. Sometimes I turn on the computer and surf the Internet, looking for inspiration. So far, I’ve always found a shiny object that catches my attention, and I sit down at the keyboard with shaking fingers, wondering how I’ll stretch this bauble into five hundred words of deathless prose. The only thing to do is start, so I write that first sentence, and the words begin to flow.

As any writer knows, some sessions are more productive than others. Some scenes or characters or plot twists aren’t nearly as captivating on the second reading. However, nothing is ever finished until the first draft is done, and no project seems nearly as scary after the first sentence has been written.

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "All About Writing – Before You Start | by Linda Brendle" (1)

  1. Great inspiration for writers today, Linda! Once you get past the first sentence, it’s all downhill. 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

