On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

I write because

If I had read this quote before I started writing regularly, I would have thought it was funny, but I wouldn’t have really understood it. Now I get it.

When I first began to write, I thought through each piece completely, outlining in my mind if not on paper exactly what I planned to say from beginning to end. I rarely deviated from my outline, and consequently, writing was more of a transcription process than a creative activity. Several years, one book, and several hundred blog posts later, I begin with a spark of an idea and maybe a point or two I think I want to cover. Then, I begin to write. Sometimes I end up in a completely different place than I expected to be, especially the few times I’ve ventured into the fiction arena.

I think that’s one of the things that keeps me tapping the keyboard–that ability to pull random thoughts from the recesses of my mind, examine them from all angles, and organize them into some semblance of order. The fact that my readers are sometimes entertained or encouraged in the process is an added bonus.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available for $6.99 at:

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Leave a Reply

