On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Isabelle Allende

 

When I first started writing, whether it was a book, a blog post, or a newspaper article, my fear of the end result and of what my readers would think of it, slowed me down to a near crawl. I read and re-read almost every sentence, second guessing everything I wrote, until I edited the life out of it. As I gained experience, including some negative responses that didn’t kill me after all, I began to relax and just write.

Now I rarely read or edit anything until I’ve completed an article or a chapter. I still have lots of editing to do, but if I get out of my own way and let the thoughts flow, the main structure pretty much takes shape in the rough draft. After that, the re-writes are just a matter of polishing and refining.

When you sit down with pen in hand or keyboard at fingertips, don’t worry about the end product. Just write, and the book or blog post or newspaper article will emerge.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available now in ebook format at:

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Comments on: "All About Writing – Don’t Be Paralyzed | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Excellent advice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

