On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Thesaurus

Maybe it’s just me, but the older I get, the more thankful I am for the Thesaurus feature in Word. There are times when I have an entire sentence or paragraph mapped out in my head, but by the time my fingers get to that critical word, it has disappeared to that special place in my mind — you know the one — the place that is similar to the spot in the washing machine where socks go to hide. Normally, I can get close enough to the right word to look it up in the Thesaurus, but there are times when even that doesn’t help and the word is just completely gone. Fortunately, I’m still creative enough that I can usually rewrite the sentence using a completely different word. If this never happens to you, please don’t tell me. I might end up with one of those…um…what’s the word…something to do with a complex? I might end up feeling bad about myself.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available in ebook format at:

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Comments on: "All About Writing – Thesaurus | by Linda Brendle" (4)

  1. I am struggling somewhat from my brother’s death in March of this year. I feel so lost and yet there is a part of me that never wants to be a caregiver again. I took care of my dad and my brother for eight years until this past March. I have been a caregiver for 23 years

    • Terry, I am so sorry for what you have been through and are still going through. Caregiving is one of the hardest jobs in the world, and you don’t have time to grieve while you are in the middle of it. Right now your main job is to take care of yourself and give yourself time to heal. I know the holidays are an especially hard time. I pray that God will give you peace, comfort, and joy as only He can.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  2. LOL! Love that cartoon! 🙂 I am thankful for it as well! Who knew there were so many words that mean the same!?!

Leave a Reply

