On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Telling our stories

One of the most healing experiences in my caregiving journey has been sharing my story through my blog and my book. Not only is it a cathartic process as I work through the joys and sorrows of my years with Mom and Dad, but the responses I receive are also healing. When someone tells me that my stories have helped them in their own struggles, it helps to give meaning to what seemed like a meaningless journey through Alzheimer’s and dementia.

My sharing didn’t begin with my writing, though. I first learned to share my stories in a caregiver support group in my church. It was a safe place where I could talk about my hurts and fears with people who understood what I was going through because they were going through similar things. It was a place where people listened and a place where I didn’t feel so alone. If you haven’t found a safe community where you can share your story, I encourage you to make that a priority in the New Year. You will be blessed.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available in ebook format at:

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Leave a Reply

