On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Writing is difficult

When I first saw this quote, I cocked my head and looked at it like a calf looking at a new gate – yes, I’m from Texas. My first reaction was, Wait! That’s not right. People sometimes tell me things like I don’t know how you think of all the things you write about. My standard comment is that’s just the way my mind works or I guess it kind of comes natural.

As I thought some more about the quote, though, I realized that, although writing comes naturally to me, it doesn’t come easily. I’m a pretty private person, but I’ve learned that in order to make my writing meaningful, I have to be open and vulnerable. Besides that, I don’t take criticism well, and once you release your writing to the public, you are open to criticism from all quarters. Most of all, a writer cares about his or her craft. Articles that were once composed almost carelessly are now written with every critic and every editor I’ve ever encountered looking over my shoulder, watching for an error in grammar, a plot inconsistency, or a character who is not true to himself.

So, if you have aspirations of being a writer, and if you think it will be as easy as sitting down in front of a keyboard, you might want to think on it a bit more. According to Thomas Mann, it might be more difficult than you think.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available in paperback .

B&N // Amazon 

Available in ebook.

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Comments on: "All About Writing – It’s Difficult | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. Great post.

    I have been struggling with the idea that I might be an actual writer for years.

    I started this blog a few moths ago as a means to put my thoughts and ideas out there and published my first work of fiction on the blog recently (in fact, the last part was today)

    Anyway, whether I will ever be considered a real writer remains to be seen. In the meantime, I’m happy doing what I’m doing so…

    • Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comment. As for being a “real writer,” I think each of us has to decide that for ourselves. To me, a writer is someone who writes because he/she has to, someone who writes whether anyone publishes, buys, or reads the results or not. A writer is someone who has words bubbling up inside that won’t go away until they find an outlet. Based on your last sentence, I’d say you are already a writer!
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a Reply

