On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

RCL Book Signing articleDavid and I made the front page of the local newspaper last week. It was a small article announcing my upcoming book signing, and it included a picture of the two of us. Since then, we’ve encountered part of the fifteen minutes of fame Andy Warhol predicted everyone would experience in the modern world.

A lot of people at the Senior Center commented on the article and the picture. Most of them congratulated me and asked questions about the book – and quite a few of them asked David how it felt to be a celebrity husband. He was very gracious about the teasing.

In addition to being a celebrity, I go the school once a week to visit with one of the students. Last week, after my visit, I was sitting in the office doing the after-visit paperwork when a teacher came through to pick up a copy of the Rains County Leader. After she picked up her paper and dropped her fifty cents into the cup, she glanced at the front page and then looked at me with a grin.

“Well, look whose picture is in the paper. We have a celebrity in our midst!”

I smiled back self-consciously and said, “Yeah, well.” I have a way with words.

Sunday morning at church several more people mentioned the article and said they planned to be at the signing. It’s nice toBook Signing Flyer know that David and I won’t be there all by ourselves. A couple of people also shared their own aspirations to write a book and asked if they could contact me for advice. I assured them that I’d be glad to share what I know, which shouldn’t take long.

Later that day, at our SISTAs meeting, one of my friends brought me her copy of the paper in case I wanted to send it to my son. Apparently, in addition to the front page article, she also read my City Girl column. In case you missed it, I re-posted it on my blog under the title “It’s the Small Things.” I wrote about how important the little things are. As an example, I told about how cutting bread out of our diet has led to a shortage of twisties. I also told about how touched I was when Margaret at the Senior Center saved the twisties from the hamburger buns for me.

When my friend arrived at the meeting, I was in the kitchen where we were working on casseroles to replenish the emergency supply we keep in the freezer. She laid the newspaper on top of my Bible which I had left on one of the tables. My Bible isn’t hard to find. It has a hot pink cover with a very blingy cross on the front, but that’s another story. When I saw the newspaper, I noticed there was an envelope on top of it with my name on it. I thought it might be a congratulations card, but when I saw what it was, I started laughing. It was full of twisties.

Occasionally, when people find out that my book has been published, they say something like Remember the little people. I can’t promise to always remember everyone’s name. At my age, the mental rolodex begins to slip a bit. Regardless of whatever limited celebrity status I might attain, though, I’m pretty sure I’ll always remember the little things.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available in paperback .

B&N // Amazon 

Available in ebook.

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Comments on: "On Being a Celebrity | by Linda Brendle" (2)

  1. See? I told you when I met you big things were in store for you! WHOO! 🙂 I love the description of your Bible too. Gotta have a little bling. 🙂 Awww I’m so proud of you, Linda! Your book is so inspiring and wonderful! 🙂 Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

