On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

double-chin-fatSince I’ve passed the age of Medicare eligibility, I avoid mirrors as much as possible. I don’t wear much make-up anymore. I hate the paste of foundation and powder that collects in the little lines that run from the sides of my nose to the corners of my mouth. On those rare occasions when I do put on a little bit of blush or lipstick, or when I style my hair, I focus on the area I’m working on and try to avoid looking at the rest.

Still, a mirror ambushes me occasionally, and I catch a full view of the laugh lines that have morphed into full blown crows’ feet and the sagging jowls make me look a bit like Winston Churchill. Actually I look more like someone closer to home – my mother. When I catch an unexpected glimpse of myself, I sometimes think I’m looking at a portrait of her instead of an image of myself.

As if age and gravity weren’t enough, there is now a new factor that may add to the loose, saggy skin between my chin and collarbones. It’s called “smartphone face.” One Internet pundit defined the new phenomenon this way: Smartphone Face is a drooping jaw-line and saggy jowls caused by neck muscles that have been shortened from constantly looking down at a smartphone or similar device.

This new phone face woe warranted an article in the New York Post. According to the author, Amber Sutherland, some New Yorkers have shrugged off the potential danger, choosing not to worry about it. I agree with Amber. I’m not sure if it is a desire on my part to age gracefully and accept the face God has given me or if it’s the fact that I don’t have the money to do anything about it, but I try not to worry about it either.

If, however, you choose to fight nature, there are things you can try. Some options are facelifts, chin filler injections, Botox, and liposuction. If those solutions are too drastic, you might consider simply holding your phone at shoulder level when reading or texting. I don’t know if this will help your double chin, but if you do it consistently, you might actually tighten up those sagging triceps a bit.

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available in paperback .

B&N // Amazon 

Available in ebook.

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Leave a Reply

