On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

Kitty 061515June is Adopt a Cat Month – so we did. Truthfully, I’m not sure who adopted who, but I’m getting ahead of my story.

Last week David and I were working in the back yard when I heard a noise I didn’t recognize. My country education has progressed to the point that I can identify the barking of a squirrel and the cry of a hawk, but this sound was a new one.

“David, is that a bird of some kind, or is there a cat around here somewhere?”

Before he had a chance to respond, we heard the sound of rustling leaves near the porch, and out strolled a kitten, meowing at the top of its little lungs. That tiny package had quite a set of pipes.

A quick inspection told me she was a girl, at least I think so. I understand it’s a little hard to tell with kittens, but we’ll assume I’m right for now. She wasn’t much more than a ball of black fur with four little legs tipped with white socks and a little white patch on one side of her nose.

She was as cute as any of the feline pictures on Facebook, but David and I agreed we didn’t want a house cat. Still, she was mostly skin and bones, so I went inside to see what I could find to feed her. Unfortunately, the Wheat Belly Diet doesn’t offer much in the way of cat food, and she didn’t seem too fond of coconut milk.

The next day she was still hanging around, so I brought home some regular milk. She showed a little more interest in that, but she was so little she didn’t seem to know how to lap it up. However, after I held her with her mouth touching the surface of it, she began to get the hang of it and managed a couple of swallows.

The third day my neighbor brought over a small baggy with some dry cat food. I put a little bit in a plastic lid with some warm water and offered it to Kitty. She went crazy, trembling all over while she licked the thin gravy off the crunchy bits.

Since then, her eating has improved, and she’s become quite adventurous. She followed David to the compost pile, and she trotted over to the garden to meet the neighbor who was walking his two dogs. The dogs didn’t take to the newcomer, so I scooped her up before they had her for lunch.

When the showers came Sunday afternoon, she stayed under the shelter of the porch steps for a while, then she went for a walk in the rain. She was beginning to fill out a little bit, but with her wet fur clinging to her body, she looked even smaller than normal.

When the rain stopped, I went outside with a small towel and gave her a rubdown. Then, David turned an empty plastic trash can on its side to provide a little more shelter from future downpours. All the excitement whetted her appetite, and she really chowed down on her dinner.

Several people have asked if we’ve named her. So far, we’re just calling her Kitty – I think we’re still in denial about having adopted a cat. There are six steps up to our porch, and Kitty has figured out how to climb as far as the second step. It won’t be long before she finds her way up to the porch. Then, we’ll see how long our resolve not to have a house cat lasts.

I will search for the lost and bring back the strays. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak. Ezekiel 34:16

Blessings,

Linda

winding road Cover 25 percentA LONG AND WINDING ROAD: A Caregiver’s Tale of Life, Love, and Chaos

Available in paperback .

B&N // Amazon 

Available in ebook.

B&N // Kobo // iTunes // Amazon // Smashwords // Google Play

Comments on: "Taking In Strays | by Linda Brendle" (1)

  1. AWWW! How adorable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

