On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

BreakfastThis is the second of a four-part saga. If you missed yesterday’s post, you might want to back up and start from the beginning. (Click here to read yesterday’s post.)

###

After the blood tests were finished, we got back into the car with a minimum of confusion and headed for the Village Inn. With the odds at 2 to 1, I didn’t want to go somewhere I had to order at a counter or go through a buffet line. I wanted to sit at a table, order our food, and have it brought to us. The Village Inn fit that bill, and it was Wednesday, so we got free pie, too. I pulled into a parking space close to the door and prayed for a nice, peaceful breakfast.

“What are we doing here?” Mom said.

“Eating breakfast,” I said.

I got everybody out and headed in the right direction, but she was still confused.

“What are we doing here?” she said again.

“Eating breakfast. Are you hungry?” I said.

“Yes, I’m always hungry,” she said.

The hostess seated us in a nice booth by the window, and the waitress brought us coffee and water. Then we faced our next hurdle – the menu. The waitress had opened the menus to breakfast, but Dad immediately flipped his back to the lunch section. Mom ignored her menu completely and looked over Dad’s shoulder at his. When we eat out, The Kids often ask me to order for them, but even when they don’t, I try to simplify the process as much as possible.

“Look,” I said, flipping Dad’s menu back over to the breakfast section. “They have a “Pick 4” breakfast here. Why don’t we order that?”

“That sounds good,” Dad said.

“Yes, let’s have that,” Mom said, pointing at the pictures.

“Okay,” I said. “But you have some decisions to make. Do you want two eggs or a cheese omelet?”

“Two eggs,” Dad said.

“Do you want them scrambled or fried?”

“Fried.”

“Over-well, over-medium, or over-easy?”

“Over easy.”

“That sounds good to me,” Mom said. Something told me this choice was not a good idea, but I didn’t listen. I moved on to the next choice.

“Do you want bacon or sausage?”

“Sausage,” Dad said.

“Link or patty?”

“Patty.”

“Good. Do you want hash browns, country potatoes, or cinnamon apples?” I said, offering only a few of the available choices to keep it as simple as possible.

After a little explanation and repetition, he decided, “Cinnamon apples sounds good.”

“One more choice. Do you want toast, pancakes, or biscuits?”

“Pancakes.”

“So you both want two eggs, over-easy, patty sausage, cinnamon apples, and pancakes. Is that right?” I said.

“Yep,” he said.

“Something like that,” Mom said.

I quickly made my own selections, relayed our orders to the waitress and sat back to enjoy my coffee. Mom carefully arranged her coffee, her water, and her utensils in front of her and looked at me expectantly.

“Now what?” she said.

“Now we drink our coffee and wait for the waitress to bring our food,” I said.

She crained her neck around and peered toward the kitchen. She turned back to me with a scowl on her face.

“When are they going to bring it?” she said.

“As soon as they get it cooked. It will be a few minutes.”

Come back tomorrow for Breakfast Adventures – Part 3 (Mom’s Breakfast)

Blessings,

Linda

Leave a Reply

