On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

failI went Christmas shopping earlier this week, and it was fun. My budget is limited, so I didn’t feel pressured to find the perfect gift for each one on my list. Instead I shopped the way Mom and I did when I was a kid. I went to a local store and wandered through the aisles until something jumped out me. But regardless of how you shop, there are those gifts that simply fail.

 A frying pan – really?

The year I was 16, I couldn’t wait to go Christmas shopping. I worked at Woolworth’s making $1.10 an hour, and I was anxious to share my wealth. I don’t remember most of what I bought, but I remember what I got Mom – a frying pan.

Since Mom commuted to Dallas and didn’t get home until 6:30, I cooked dinner most nights and was aware of the kitchen needs. We had a couple of skillets, but one had a wobbly handle and one had only a metal stub where the handle had once been. So on my first December payday, I visited the kitchen section of Montgomery Ward and purchased a shiny new frying pan. That night I carefully wrapped it and put it under the tree. And then buyer’s remorse set in.

 This article was recently 

published on Yahoo Voices.

To read the full story,

CLICK HERE.

Merry Christmas,

Linda

Leave a Reply

